We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free bikes for sightseeing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Free bikes for sightseeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Very nice hotel, very good service, very nice room. As everything was very pricey, we didn't try much of the hotel services, but we liked the room, and the only service that seemed to be included in our room rate (116€, which seems to be quite a deal), was a free bike rental for a whole day. That was just an amazing experience, as the concierge provided us a map of cycling tours in Helsinki!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    202
    64
    19
    3
See reviews for
93
222
70
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

One of the reasons I was able to enjoy this hotel was because of Starwood's Earn Free Nights promotion. I had stayed enough to earn a weekend night and wanted to pick somewhere nice to spend it. Conviniently, a night in Helsinki was an option before going to Russia so we snapped up The Kamp with our redemption. I'm thankful for SPG's promotion - otherwise I probably would never have stayed here.

This hotel is nice. Very nice.

You can tell right away you've stepped into an old, beautiful building based on the lobby. Bright, airy and spacious, this front area is one of the nicest I've ever seen. Check-in was completed efficiently and without problems. Also in regards to the front office, one of the most surprising things for me was that they had a small room with two computers/internet available free for use. Seldom do you find that a such a upscale property.

Our room, I believe was an upgrade - unless all rooms have small libraries in them. It was fairly large, and contained two double beds (as per the request). There was also the standard desk and chairs and yes, a library with real books. I will not say it was the most elegantly furnished room I have ever been in - there was a bit much of the 'Old World Charm' to it - but it was certainly comfortable.

The real feature of this room however was the bathroom - again, one of the nicest I have seen. It contained a large sink area, bathtub and separate shower stall. All marble, and there was even a Kamp branded rubber ducky for the tub. The upscale bath products were also a nice touch.

The Kamp is also all about location, location, location. In fact - I'm wondering if it can be beat? It's right in the middle of an outdoor pedestrian mall that was bustling with activity when we were there. You can tell the hotel was been there for awhile - based not only on its architecture, but also where it sits in Helsinki. It's a short walk away from the water/ferries and most of the city's sights.

After a long day out in the capital - this hotel was a dream to come back to. Although minimal time was spent in it - I enjoyed its thoughtful touches and classic elegance. Hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Right in the heart of downtown, beautiful place, everything was very nice (but not cheap). The spa was very nice too, the bar was elegant, the rooms excellent (marble bathroom with huge tub especially).
Only caution I have is that the afternoon tea at the restuarant was really pricey, but still a great time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Just rated this hotel high only to add a note of caution for people - I booked a room through a hotel booking web site, one of the popualr ones. When the reservation came through with full details the room is a smoking one, and a no smoking is extra. £50 more for a smoke free room.
Hopefully all will be fine when we arrive as the booking cannot be cancelled either.
I have complained and will update when response received.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

After some days in copenhagen, me and my finace chose to visit Helsinki for a couple of days. Since Kamp was the only Starwood hotel in the city, and we really like Starwood, we chose to stay there.

There was a really cute girl checking us in which made us feel welcome and relaxed. Te room was nice with a large double bed, but it seemd a bit worn out. Maybe it's time for a renovation?

The restaurant was fabulous and roomservice aswell, the only complaint we actually have is that the AC did not seem to work properly. But upon notifying the front desk they quickly solved the problem.

A good stay in a good city and I can really recommend this hotel if you want to be in a nice hotel, centrally located.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Kamp for six nights on a business trip to Helsinki and found it to be a fine establishment. The staff were courteous and attentive despite the fact that they were being run ragged by a huge bevy of Americans attending some sort of convention.

I had an executive room facing the pedestrian street: it was large, with a writing desk and a lovely bath with a heated floor.

The first-floor bar is well appointed with large leather chairs and serves adequate pub type food.

Two things to mention: as noted by other reviewers, the Internet connection is ridiculously expensive (€20 per day) and ludicrously slow. The breakfast, although good, is also very expensive at €29. You're better off to simply walk across the street for a quick coffee.

Their gym is top-notch but the hours on Sundays are limited.

Overall a very nice, comfortable, experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

we spent two nites here this month...check in was quick and pleasant....the first room we were assigned was located about 1/2 way to moscow....i asked to be relocated immediately...they graciously complied but put us in a room that smelled of smoke even though my starwood's profile and reservation specified non smoking.....now i was a bit mad....they then upgraded me to an executive room which was huge and lovely---smothered in yellow... bath was huge and well appointed... room overlooked the fantastic classic building next door...bed was very comfortable....there was a 2 seat sofa in the middle of the room and a huge flat screen tv...
we asked to have a coffee machine in the room....the request took one hour and the staff person brought a bucket of ice instead.....she returned 10 minutes later with the machine, but no coffee, only tea and hot chocolate... we gave up...
based on our arrival problems they sent us a lovely bottle of red wine....would we return, yes on points, no for cash....
location is fantastic for both tourists and business.... we observed one young business man have a meltdown over a service issue while there....
we stayed on cash and points: 4800 pts and $90 cash....a very good deal so i really should not complain....but...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kämp, the only five star hotel in the country, is worth traveling to Finland all on its own. Situated in city center near shopping & business district, Hotel Kämp has 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. All rooms have a spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. Palace Kämp Day Spa and the hotel private gym and sauna facilities are at the service of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.