We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate service, amenities, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“First-rate service, amenities, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Neither my husband nor I wanted to leave the Kamp this morning. Our room was unbelievable large, with one of the finest bathrooms in any hotel we've stayed in over the years. The hallways and carpets are immaculate, the service is quick and friendly. The buffet breakfast knocks your socks off, and the location is splendid for doing everything you want to do in Helsinki, and beyond (the harbor is close at hand for sorties to Suomenlinna and Tallinn). This is truly an old-school hotel with a hip, new attitude, but without a hint of pretense. Don't bother with the GLO -- it's just the Kamp with more glitz. Stay at the real thing, a hotel for adults (kids always welcome anywhere in Finland) run by professionals.

PS We loved Helsinki, a wonderfully intimate city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    219
    68
    20
    4
See reviews for
100
237
73
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. The location was perfect for a short city tour. The rooms were clean, spacious and confortable. The bathroom was very big with a bathtub and a separate shower.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

LOCATION: Awesome location! Right in front of Esplanade Park. Easy to get around on foot or tram.

ROOM: Spacious room. Elegant and clean. Decorations and furniture were clean and free of damage, unlike some older luxury hotels.

HOTEL: Great location. Clean public areas. Excellent spa, steam room, and sauna.

CITY: Helsinki is a unique Scandinavian city. Must see Uspenski Church. One of the best Orthodox churches we've seen. Other cool attractions are Sibelius Monument and Helsinki Church/Square. Take a walk anywhere along the waterfront or near the ports.

FOOD/DINING: Didn't eat at the hotel. However, seafood is must. Enjoy a cafe and pastry, they're terrific! Seemed like the market near the port was open daily. Must try any kind of berries. Delicious!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Allways a treat to stay, but beware the in house YUME Japanese Restaurant! Bad service an probaly worst Japanese meal I have ever had.

The same space transforms into a breakfast room in the am - which tells you all you need to know.

I spoke to management about this and was underwhelmed with their response.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We love the Kamp. Elegant, great bar, nice well equipped gym and sauna, and central location. Visited in April for the third time. Our son now lives in Helsinki, so we expect to visit 2 or 3 times per year. Rooms are nice, bathrooms outstanding, and although you are unlikely to get a decent view other than into the adjacent shopping mall, who cares, you are in the best hotel and in the best location in, what is in my view, one of the nicest cities in Europe to visit. Try it in April when the weather is warming up but you still sail past ice floes in the harbour as you set out on the ferry to explore the islands. But why, oh why, does a hotel of any standard, feel it necessary to charge 28 euros for tea for 2. I'm not talking cakes, scones, and sandwiches on a silver tray. Just tea, as in tea bags with hot water poured over them.This was room service, so we expect to pay a premium-silver tray and tea pot certainly, but two cups, milk, and tea bags, ordered not in the middle of the night, but around 08.00am. Ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous, and unecessary. Helsinki is very expensive, and the state of sterling makes the city an even more expensive destination, but although I don't mind a nice a cup of tea now and again, at that price it leaves a bad taste in your mouth. However, don't be put off. It is a lovely city to visit, and although I have stayed in other hotels, the Kamp is close to my heart and I will be back. Anyway, loads of great cafes across the road and round the corner where you drown in tea for a fraction of the price. Try the Kapelli on the way to the harbour- a little gem of a place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

While the hotel looks very nice, I found the service I received is not by one Luxury Collection hotel. The yellow/brown stains on the ceiling of the bathroom (see pictture) is disgusting and the floor and the room carpets were not thoroughly cleaned. Dark spots (see picture) in the on the writing desk, the obvious lack of and inconsistent cleaning routine. Staying at this hotel made it difficult to fully enjoy my experience at Tina Turner concerts in Helsinki too. I certainly not come back to this old Luxury Collection hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

The rooms were immaculate and the location was just perfect, a short walk to anywhere you'd want to go. As with all things in Finland it wasn't exactly cheap, but when the company's paying, you couldn't fault it on any level.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kämp, the only five star hotel in the country, is worth traveling to Finland all on its own. Situated in city center near shopping & business district, Hotel Kämp has 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. All rooms have a spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. Palace Kämp Day Spa and the hotel private gym and sauna facilities are at the service of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.