We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Luxury and Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

LOCATION: Awesome location! Right in front of Esplanade Park. Easy to get around on foot or tram.

ROOM: Spacious room. Elegant and clean. Decorations and furniture were clean and free of damage, unlike some older luxury hotels.

HOTEL: Great location. Clean public areas. Excellent spa, steam room, and sauna.

CITY: Helsinki is a unique Scandinavian city. Must see Uspenski Church. One of the best Orthodox churches we've seen. Other cool attractions are Sibelius Monument and Helsinki Church/Square. Take a walk anywhere along the waterfront or near the ports.

FOOD/DINING: Didn't eat at the hotel. However, seafood is must. Enjoy a cafe and pastry, they're terrific! Seemed like the market near the port was open daily. Must try any kind of berries. Delicious!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    223
    68
    20
    4
See reviews for
101
239
73
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Allways a treat to stay, but beware the in house YUME Japanese Restaurant! Bad service an probaly worst Japanese meal I have ever had.

The same space transforms into a breakfast room in the am - which tells you all you need to know.

I spoke to management about this and was underwhelmed with their response.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We love the Kamp. Elegant, great bar, nice well equipped gym and sauna, and central location. Visited in April for the third time. Our son now lives in Helsinki, so we expect to visit 2 or 3 times per year. Rooms are nice, bathrooms outstanding, and although you are unlikely to get a decent view other than into the adjacent shopping mall, who cares, you are in the best hotel and in the best location in, what is in my view, one of the nicest cities in Europe to visit. Try it in April when the weather is warming up but you still sail past ice floes in the harbour as you set out on the ferry to explore the islands. But why, oh why, does a hotel of any standard, feel it necessary to charge 28 euros for tea for 2. I'm not talking cakes, scones, and sandwiches on a silver tray. Just tea, as in tea bags with hot water poured over them.This was room service, so we expect to pay a premium-silver tray and tea pot certainly, but two cups, milk, and tea bags, ordered not in the middle of the night, but around 08.00am. Ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous, and unecessary. Helsinki is very expensive, and the state of sterling makes the city an even more expensive destination, but although I don't mind a nice a cup of tea now and again, at that price it leaves a bad taste in your mouth. However, don't be put off. It is a lovely city to visit, and although I have stayed in other hotels, the Kamp is close to my heart and I will be back. Anyway, loads of great cafes across the road and round the corner where you drown in tea for a fraction of the price. Try the Kapelli on the way to the harbour- a little gem of a place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

While the hotel looks very nice, I found the service I received is not by one Luxury Collection hotel. The yellow/brown stains on the ceiling of the bathroom (see pictture) is disgusting and the floor and the room carpets were not thoroughly cleaned. Dark spots (see picture) in the on the writing desk, the obvious lack of and inconsistent cleaning routine. Staying at this hotel made it difficult to fully enjoy my experience at Tina Turner concerts in Helsinki too. I certainly not come back to this old Luxury Collection hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

The rooms were immaculate and the location was just perfect, a short walk to anywhere you'd want to go. As with all things in Finland it wasn't exactly cheap, but when the company's paying, you couldn't fault it on any level.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

This was my second stay at Hotel Kamp, the first stay was nearly 5 years ago and everything seems to remain in top condition. Rooms were very well appointed and the marbled bathroom was very spacious and had both a shower and a tub(with a nice black rubber duckie). The hotel was centrally located, but located on a quiet side street. Only a 10 min walk to the main train/bus station, 5 min walk to Senate Square and the Harbor, and 3 minute walk to Stockmann's department store.

The Sauna was also quite nice, but there was a charge of 10 euros per use. In fact the only thing that I can complain about at this hotel is the price they charge for Internet access. E20/day is quite steep.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascadia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Overall, hte hotel is very nice inside. It's set in a classic building, but really that's just a facade, as most of the hotel on new wings. The bar is really cool with a classic setting, but modern elements and a cool looking crowd. The location is excellent too.

My heat did not work one night (not good in finland), they brought me a heater. And, I requested a king room--which was room really just two twin beds with a master bed mattress cover over it--so the crack in the middle was quite pronounced. I wouldn't worry too much about this stuff, it happens some time. However, they 'nickel and dime' you for everything--gym entrance, use of a electricity coverter, no coffee maker in the room--so you've got to buy coffee. If you want an Starwood upgrade, you will not get it unless you pay--in my case it was $60/night.

I've stayed in a number of Starwood Luxury Collection hotel around the world, but Kamp isn't really quite on par. It's a very nice business hotel--like a in-city Ritz Carlton or more classic Four Seasons--ie, traditional furnishing. But, it's not really something special like most Luxury Collection hotels--so lower your expectations

One word of caution: there are NO views or outlooks--unless you get a suite. So, if you like overlooking a blah courtyard and facing other windows--then great. These rooms are quiet. If you want to open your drapes and see a bit of Finland, or get some light to help the jetlag recovery--then you MUST reserve a suite. They told me these are the only rooms with outlooks. My recommendation is to build that into the price of the room. Otherwise you could basically be in the Four Season Dallas or whatever city.


Hope this helps

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kämp, the only five star hotel in the country, is worth traveling to Finland all on its own. Situated in city center near shopping & business district, Hotel Kämp has 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. All rooms have a spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. Palace Kämp Day Spa and the hotel private gym and sauna facilities are at the service of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.