We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“disappointing second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is probably the best option in Helsinki, but I found it lacking on my recent stay. Check in was cold and no one helped me with my bags or showed me to my room. I had been upgraded to a suite, but the room's carpets were dirty, the curtains didn't close to completely darken the room, and some of the small bottles of shampoo, body wash, and conditioner were all open and partially used. The room service menu and bistro menu are both extremely limited. Also they charge an additional fee (19 euros I think) to use wifi.

None of these faults are terrible, but for the price I paid and compared with my first visit to the hotel, it was a disappointing experience that will have me trying another hotel the next time I'm in Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    265
    88
    22
    7
See reviews for
138
304
87
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice spacious room in a hotel that is centrally located. The bar/patio/terrace is great for evening or lunch tike drink. The breakfast was good, mixture of local dishes (fish) and the usual fare. The only let down on what would have been an "excellent" review was that the internet was not included in the room rate.... a real bug bare of mine in so called business hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The rooms are classically designed like many Starwood's upper end hotels: heavily wooded and old world style. The front desk staff was pleasant and the Resturant staff equally well trained. The only downside of staying at this classic hotel is seeing everyone in the financial services industries. The upside - dinner or drink on the sidewalk after your long flight!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Large room but on inside of building looking onto other rooms therefore dark but quiet too. Large marble bathroom with separate shower and toilet area. Hotel is very quiet. Had room service first night on arrival from overseas. Very small club sandwich half of usual size for 22 euros plus 12 euro delivery charge very pricey ! So beware of service charge if you wish to order room service. Breakfast buffet is decent with usual range of options. Service a little chaotic in the morning. Desk staff very helpful in providing information.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

a lively check-in (you should train for informal style, too) and service all-around, comfortable room, bathroom to die for, and a rich breakfast - what else do you need from a hotel?

An "old-fashioned" and a cigar would probably complete the picture, and hi-tech and ultra modern would not really fit.

Each town with a history spanning beyond XX century should have a hotel like Kamp, and I'm glad Helsinki does.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Overall, very much enjoyed my stay. The only real disappointment was price of hotel and then surcharge for internet and upgrade to use the sauna/steam room.

Location - awesome, right in the center of things so easy walk to restaurants, main shopping area, park and historic churches & waterfront.

Service - super friendly service. Great suggestions for dinner.

Room - very nice but I prefer a bit more modern as the decorations and sofa were very old fashioned. Very comfortable mattress/pillows, good desk for work, and large shower.

Gym - nice but nothing great. One rower, one treadmill, 1 bike, and 1 elliptical plus some assorted weights. Never crowded so no issues with limited equipment.

Sauna/Steamroom - worth a visit.

Japanese restaurant - we really enjoyed this restaurant. Food and service was excellent.

Brunch buffet - good but pricey at 29 euros. You can walk across street to Fazer's for latte, bakery, deserts, and on weekends - large bfast buffet and save some $'s. McD's 1 block down the street too.

Overall, very nice older hotel but not sure if on my dime (vs employer), I would have opted for less expensive option like Radisson Blue which is 50% the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Spend two nights with my parents here in Helsinki and chose Hotel Kamp because they’re part of SPG. Usually, when an SPG hotel doesn’t carry any of their brand names I don’t have very high hopes, but Hotel Kamp over delivered.

Rooms are very spacious and especially the bathroom stands out in terms of openness and layout. The marble finishes are beautiful. Which reminds me; throughout the entire hotel you’ll find beautiful finishes which result in a beautiful nostalgic ambiance that reminds me of the show Mad Men.

Room service was always quick and tasty.

Downstairs near the lobby, there’s a popular hotel bar, bistro and an a-la-carte restaurant. All of them are packed over the weekend, confirming the popularity of the hotel.

The location is perfect, just a few minutes walking from all the popular restaurants.

Would happily stay here again. Just one request for the hotel; put some more healthy food on the bar menu and in room dining. I’d like to eat things besides burgers and club sandwhiches.

In summary; get a room here and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#5 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.