We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Great - as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is my 3rd stay and not disappointed. Beautifully made room and bathroom. Very comfortable in any way. Nice and friendly reception service with good humor. Spotlessly clean. Location very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    235
    78
    20
    5
See reviews for
112
254
80
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the nicest hotels that I have ever stayed-in. Great location in the city centre. The staff were professional yet friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent, really spacious and really comfortable. There was a wide choice of dishes at breakfast, all good quality. It is not the cheapest hotel in Helsinki, but if you want quality, this hotel is worth the price. Pre-Dinner drinks in the library room, a must.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose Hotel Kamp as our base during a weekend trip to Helsinki in April.

The hotel has a very good location right in the centre of Helsinki, within relatively easy walking distance of most sights and good shopping.

Upon arriving, it took quite a while for a someone to greet us and collect our luggage out of the hotel car. Reception was similarly backed up. Everyone was friendly though.

The room was well appointed and well heated. Bathroom pretty small though. We had a view of a side street, nowhere near as good as of the park out front. If there is a turndown service, we must have been skipped.

The spa area is a good facility, great Turkish bath.

Hotel Kamp is well-deserving of a rating of 4. It's a good hotel, but not amongst the world's best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ended up at Hotel Kamp after we discovered that our hotel restaurant closed at 10.30 pm and that it also did not offer any room service except for some unappetising sandwiches at reception. We braved the cold weather in search of food. Hotel Kamp's lounge was warm and inviting, the bar staff friendly and we had a substantial lamb burger and cheese platter (it was actually on the dessert menu). Good value for money.
Did not stay at the hotel, which is located on the esplanade.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Hotel Kamp several times since it opened and have not been disappointed. On our July trip we spent the first two nights at Hotel Haven, which has very many admirable qualities, but decided we missed the ambiance of Kamp and moved there for our final 3 nights in Helsinki. I find the rooms to be very comfortable and soothing--a perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping. The staff is professional but cordial and welcoming. Regarding service at the restaurant, we didn't find that to be a problem, but did agree the portions (although of high quality)were quite small for the money

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the side street (not the Esplanade) are quiet and allow people watching on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

perfect .. almost i every way!
Perfect location, service, room, bathroom, food, drinks.
I agree with some of the reviews here that the service in the restaurant and bar was not super !

Breakfast in the room was missing several items described in the menu.
But but .... I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel has a gigantic reputation & an Amex Fine Hotel with location in a historic building right in the best part of town. The room I had was simple and a bit crowded with furniture in a Scandic early 20th century style on the 8th floor @ the new wing. I should have asked for one in the old building. On arrival no bellboys were to be found and the lifts were malfunctioning. A queue developed at check in. Our first impression was sullied by understaffed service that leaves you unacknowledged. An extensive list of pillows offered but when asked: sorry we don't have. Young staff not on the ball but work at a entitled pace. Similarly the waiters were having difficulty serving and customers left waiting, food with long intervals between courses and a 11€ beer. This is not to say this place is bad. It's very good, it's about expectations not met. On the Good side, the food especially at the Brasserie Kamp for dinner is excellent and buffet breakfast is superb with great leaf tea served in silver. The front of the hotel is the high point full of chic charm but the back is a labyrinth parading as the stylish front. Kamp is good but when you have a huge reputation ,the devil is in the detail, start with the staff cos the place is twice the price of the GLO next door. Staff inconsistency is the problem though many were wonderful , some were just inefficient and should be elsewhere.I like the Restaurant , bar and the library and the chic historic appeal but you feel you need more...

Room Tip: Pay more get one in the old wing. Delux rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.