We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Old school style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had planned so many times to visit this grand old lady when we were living in Helsinki. This year my family had a chance to stay there a whole week during July. We got a very good deal online without breakfast.

Below a few notes from our stay:
+ Location of the hotel is the best in Helsinki. Right next to the shopping and sightseeing.
+ Easy to find good breakfast spots nearby (Café Esplanadi, Fazer café, Café Aalto, Ekberg..).
+ We booked a basic room which was very spacious (very important when you have to fit a baby cot inside). We couldn’t hear anything from other rooms so the rooms are also very quiet.
+ Bathroom is spacious with a classic design and separate shower and bathtub. Big towels, (which I personally find important).
+ Enough bath amenities and you didn’t have to ask for more, these were automatically replaced.
+Room service worked very well every time we had to call them (for new pillows, baby cot to be changed etc.).
+ Pillow menu (this is missing from too many hotels)
+ Bicycles available for hotel guests. One evening we took the hotel bikes (Jopos) and cycled to a restaurant a bit further from the centre. A fun way to see the city.
+ Valet parking worked well.
+ Professional staff. Check in and check out were handled in a second without a hassle and when we made a call before our arrival, they kindly provided a tea kettle to our room and assisted with other topics as well.
+ Usually there is always some big star or band staying in the hotel. During our visit, it was Iron Maiden ;-)

- There was no view from our window (only the inside cupola)..probably thanks to the cheap rate.
- Maintenance of the room was not as good as expected in a 5* hotel (bed was made in a rush many times, no clean drinking glasses were provided and they didn't make the baby cot bed once).
- Room service menu is pricey and there is an extra charge in addition.
- Breakfast price (breakfast is not as good as in other 5* hotels where you pay the same price)
- Wifi free only in the lobby/restaurants, high price for the room.

Our stay was enjoyable and I would definitely stay in this hotel again but I can’t believe there is still a hotel in Finland where you actually have to pay for Wifi. Some of the furniture in the room are starting to show a bit of wear and tear and I hope the hotel management notices this. Few additions that would have been nice (and has happened in many other 5* hotels) are a "necessity bag" for the toddler (with baby bath amenities etc.) and coffee/tea makind facilities as a standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    250
    83
    21
    5
See reviews for
121
279
85
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the hotel over Christmas. The service was excellent and extremely friendly.
Due to some packing stress we forgot an valuable item in The hotel room. We called the hotel as soon as we realised it was missing, that was a day after we arrived home, the hotel personnel looked through the garbage and a few hours later they called us and told us they found it and would ship it to us right away.
This would not have happened in any other hotel, in our view!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great location, lovely hotel & staff. Internet access EUR 20 for 24hrs in the room (but free in the lobby). Not sure if that's a general thing in Helsinki, but I was shocked - and I think it would put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

As an AMEX Centurion Cardmember, we booked this hotel through the AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts (FHR)program. What a pure disappointment. The Hotel Kamp, in my opinion, is not up to that standard. Overall, the hotel seemed old and tired. In particular, the junior suite room we booked was smaller than most regular rooms. For example, there was only space for one chair in the room. There was very little space on either side of the bed. They charged for WIFI. This is the first hotel I've stayed at from the FHR, that did not articulate what the amenities were for this hotel. They did not offer an upgrade. Later, when I asked, I was told the hotel was fully committed even though their web site indicated a one bed room suite was available. Also, there were no bell man. I had to unload the taxi and take my luggage to the reception desk. Upon check out, there were bellman to assist you with your luggage. The location is wonderful to see Helsinki but the hotel is clearly not a luxury hotel and most certainly not worth the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a week in July. We chose it because of the location and the size of the rooms. Breakfast was not included but the hotel is surrounded with cafes to chose from so it didn't matter. Overall experience was very good and a nice extra was the bikes you could borrow for free.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Hotel Kämp has a terrific location in the heart of Helsinki. It was probably a grande dame of a hotel at some point in the past, but today it is either past its prime or simply not managed as one would expect of a five-star hotel.

The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. Buffet breakfast was good, but overcrowded. (The hotel seems to be popular for groups.) Wi-fi is free in the lobby, but one must pay for it in the rooms.

Next time, I would opt to try someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 6 days in July. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The location is excellent so the price is higher. The hotel definitely caters to those who don't mind spending more to be pampered and they do a good job. It's not a great place for business travelers because breakfast and internet are not included. The staff is friendly and helpful. I probably wouldn't stay there again because it's a little over-the-top in terms of add on prices for breakfast and internet. But if you're not on a budget and don't mind spending a little more, it's a very nice place.

Room Tip: There are lot's of fun options for breakfast close by. Check out Ekkberg which is only a few bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.