We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but for these price needs to be great..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but for these price needs to be great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Let me start with the good - 1. Excellent location in the city to get to most places, including the public transit system. 2. Great breakfast and well worth it to pay for it, even if it's not included in the room rate you get. 3. A nice room and very comfortable bed. My take is this hotel seems to be geared more towards the business traveler as it is GIGANTIC! A maze of hallways took us back to our room. I say it is geared for the business traveller as who else would pay the the insane WiFi cost per day $32.00US? Only a business traveller can write this off as a reimbursible travel expense. The hotel is a bit worn (dirty stained ottoman in the room) and some service lapses - such as the dirty tray of dishes that sat at the end of the hallway for 2 days during our stay. The hotel bar is nice - but so busy with non-hotel guests that bar service suffers greatly. We sat down for a drink and the bartender told us he would be "right back" we never saw him again and waited 20 minutes for a drink by walking up to the bar. Another small service lapse - the pillows are on the bed were too soft - so I called down to get 2 firm pillows brought up (granted it was late a night) 2 phone calls and 50 minutes later someone showed up with the 2 soft pillows I already had. Bear in mind there is a 2 page "brochure" that explains the pillows and options to the guest - I guess isn't read by the hotel staff. The shower stall was on the smallish side (but I realize that is the way in Europe). For the non-business traveller, you might be better served by a small boutique hotel that may prove to be a better value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    226
    72
    20
    5
See reviews for
107
243
76
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Helsinki. Located on the finest esplanade, this hotel offers large and very comfortable rooms. Conveniently located to everything you'll wish to do in this beautiful city. Excellent service. Do make a point of staying here. Minor annoyance is the extra charge for using wifi in the room (it is 2013 folks!). Fitness centre is small and adequate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK/Detroit, MI, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kamp over the course of three weeks whilst traveling to Helsinki on business. In general, there are a lot of good things about this property; however, there are also some issues that I wouldn't expect to find at a hotel of this caliber (I detail these these things later in the review).

The Hotel Kamp is stuffy and is considered to be one of the nicest hotels in Helsinki. The bar is filled every night with a mix of well dressed, pretentious guests and locals (the main entrance is on the side of the property, so you can avoid this mess). The location is great and is within walking distance of stores, restaurants, etc.

I stayed in a "Premium Deluxe Room", which was clean, well appointed and large. There is a large desk / working area, which was ideal for me. Depending on where the room is located in the hotel, you could have a long walk from the lift.

The food is good (room service), but very, very expensive. In fact, everything in this hotel is very, very expensive.

As I mentioned at the start of my review, there are a few things that keep me from rating this property as "excellent":

(1) Bad air conditioning: It was abnormally hot when I was in Helsinki and the air conditioning in the rooms do not work well (even with the fan set to high, the coldest temperature setting applied, etc.). You get nothing more than a light breeze of air coming through the vent. It was miserable.

(2) - Poor bed: A "king sized" bed is actually two twin beds put together. This is useless because you can't you sleep in the middle.

(3) - Other areas: My room service was quite late one night (note: they did apologise and remove the tray charge), Internet is not free (it is actually very expensive) and their "business centre" is one computer in a closet behind reception (laughable). Finally, each room comes with an iron. During one trip, I checked in after midnight and found that my room did not have an iron it. I called down to have one delivered and the Front Desk started arguing with me, saying that i overlooked the iron and one had to be in my room. When I finally convinced them that it was missing, they delivered one and said that housekeeping would need to pick it up first thing in the morning because it was their only spare!

As the Hotel Kamp is considered a 5 start hotel, my review comes with a more critical lens applied. As such, this hotel straddles average / very good. Before staying again, I would (personally) explore other nice hotels in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Helsinki, everything is around you. Service is excellent and the hotel is really clean. Along one of the finest streets in Helsinki. If you care about walking to attractions, then this is the place to stay. Close to the water, the Orthodox Cathedral, the House of Estates, the Helsinki Cathedral, the Presidents Palace, and many fine restaurants in Helsinki. Half a minute walk from the tram and many department stores and brand stores. Their terrace restaurant is so beautiful, especially if you like people watching. The downside is that for breakfast, they have very limited options. However, their restaurant staff is really nice. I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice higher end hotel in a very good location. Good quality service and decent rooms. The bar is a great place to have evening drinks and remains busy till it closes around 12:30.

Mini bar does not get stocked unless you ask and the selection is limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

great service food on internal hotel not the best but me yu great location was excellent and the rooms a great size early breakfast good but a bit expensive on route to russia so a bit scruffey this made no odds to the service

Room Tip: floor 7 or 5 bothe suites very large and well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

One of the nicest stays we have ever had from the second we arrived until we left (twice - managed to leave passport at hotel on day of flight) the location is brilliant attached to a lovely mall overlooking the park with a fabulous restaurant downstairs the harbour is seconds away and the shopping is to die for! Only let down is not having free wifi. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and the carnival on one short break
Staff were very helpful room was uber clean and well appointed bed was comfortable just a great stay thank you

Room Tip: A room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kämp, the only five star hotel in the country, is worth traveling to Finland all on its own. Situated in city center near shopping & business district, Hotel Kämp has 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. All rooms have a spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. Palace Kämp Day Spa and the hotel private gym and sauna facilities are at the service of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.