We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to be in Helsinki, Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Place to be in Helsinki, Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Helsinki, everything is around you. Service is excellent and the hotel is really clean. Along one of the finest streets in Helsinki. If you care about walking to attractions, then this is the place to stay. Close to the water, the Orthodox Cathedral, the House of Estates, the Helsinki Cathedral, the Presidents Palace, and many fine restaurants in Helsinki. Half a minute walk from the tram and many department stores and brand stores. Their terrace restaurant is so beautiful, especially if you like people watching. The downside is that for breakfast, they have very limited options. However, their restaurant staff is really nice. I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    259
    84
    21
    6
See reviews for
131
299
87
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice higher end hotel in a very good location. Good quality service and decent rooms. The bar is a great place to have evening drinks and remains busy till it closes around 12:30.

Mini bar does not get stocked unless you ask and the selection is limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

great service food on internal hotel not the best but me yu great location was excellent and the rooms a great size early breakfast good but a bit expensive on route to russia so a bit scruffey this made no odds to the service

Room Tip: floor 7 or 5 bothe suites very large and well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

One of the nicest stays we have ever had from the second we arrived until we left (twice - managed to leave passport at hotel on day of flight) the location is brilliant attached to a lovely mall overlooking the park with a fabulous restaurant downstairs the harbour is seconds away and the shopping is to die for! Only let down is not having free wifi. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and the carnival on one short break
Staff were very helpful room was uber clean and well appointed bed was comfortable just a great stay thank you

Room Tip: A room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is wonderful, I would definitely stay again. We traveled in a group of 8 members of our family age ranging from 16-75 years old and everyone loved it!

The location is the best part as it is literally walking distance from anything you want to do and the beautiful park outside is a delight to come home to every day of your trip. From what the other members in my group said, the food and breakfast at the hotel was wonderful too.

The service is amazing and the concierge helped secure us transportation and dinner reservations for our large and picky foodie group.

Lastly, we were first surprised at the lack of pillows on the bed but then realized they had a custom pillow menu to choose from! It was awesome. So were the toiletries, maid service, and complimentary waters at night. This is what you expect for a nice hotel which unfortunately some luxury hotels lack now in days.


Pros:
LOCATION
Great concierge and helpful staff
BEAUTIFUL common areas like the restaurants and the lobby
Big spacious rooms and high end marble bathrooms
Comfy and clean bed

Cons:
Shabby carpet in the rooms, should be replaced
£10/day Internet charge. This is insulting as a guest.

So it loses a star for the two negatives above.

Room Tip: They all face the courtyard so one room isn't too much better than any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotels has unquestionably one of the best locations in Helsinki, right at the Esplanade. It is known as the most exclusive hotel of the city and does indeed have a very high standard.

The rooms are impeccably clean, well decorated and maintained. I had opted for a deluxe room for my short stay in Finland and enjoyed one of the most impressive bathrooms I have ever seen in an ordinary hotel room (cfr. photos). In the rooms the minibar is overprized and there is no free wi-fi, what someone would expect in a true quality hotel. Also no tv program was to be found in the rooms, not to mention morning newspapers. I was lucky to have my room towards the inner courtyard, so I cannot judge whether the rooms towards the street are quiet enough for a comfortable night sleep. In order to swich off all the lights one has to go the door, which I founs very impractical.

The Kamp Hotel bar is a popular meeting place for the locals and hence often crowded. Its restaurant Brasserie is quite expensive - albeit of a good standard. This time I did not try the adjunct Asian Yume restaurant. On my first morning the breakfast was served in the Brasserie, on the second in Yume, but on both times the assortments were exactly the same and very basic. Even bacon and eggs were below the standard level. This was a major disappointment for me, as was the fact that there were now individually packed youghurts. A 5 star hotel with a breakfast that is normally found - I guess - in a 3 star hotel? Not impressive at all.

For me personally another downside is that this hotel does not have a swimming pool, even if it does offer a spa and saunas, which I did not have the time to experience. During my stay I witnessed that some of the staff does not speak Finnish. I found it very weired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Terrible service. Arrived after a long flight, no porters, had to drag our bags to reception.
Pillows in room were well below standard even for a 3 star hotel. Both sinks in bathroom were blocked. Standard of staff was below what one would expect.. I am amazed it had a 5 star rating.We paid 341 euro for our room and expected a lot more. Breakfast was average. Will certainly not stay on our next visit through Helsinki. Avoid room 701! AND NO FREE WIFI in our room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 701.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mika_Makkonen, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jim H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your comments and feedback. Your comments are very valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. I am sorry to read we were not able to exceed or even meet your expectations.

I have contacted you personally and I am happy offer my assistance with this matter and regaining your trust in our Hotel.

Once again we apologize for your inconvenient experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#5 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#10 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.