We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel--perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel--perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

As a frequent traveler, I used spg points for the Hotel Kamp, so a great deal . I did check out prices, and it was a bit pricey in comparison ( 30 Euros for breakfast), but the rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The historic Hotel Kamp is in an EXCELLENT location, beautiful rooms, lovely spa and fitness center and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    227
    73
    20
    5
See reviews for
109
247
76
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and in that respect, it is great if you are in town for multiple meetings. But a warning about their restaurant. It seems they tend to forget that you ordered. This has happened to me twice now (once about a year ago, the second time just today). You sit there for 30 minutes like an idiot and then when you ask them about it they faint surprise that the food has not been served, when in fact I suspect they simply forgot to file the order. Whatever the case for the tardiness, this is very frustrating, especially when you arrive late in the evening and hope to catch a quick bite before bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Passing thru Helsinki and stayed at the Hotel Kamp. My travel agent recommended this hotel as being well located and having nice rooms. I felt that the rooms were not small and that they were more like an American Hotel in size than the typical European Hotel. The group that I was traveling with were all very happy with the accommodations. All of us travel all over the world and stay in the nicest hotels. This is not a 5 star property but one that could achieve that status with improvements to reception and concierge services. I would have no apprehensions of staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have stayed here many times. Very consistent service & quality. The rooms are all very comfortable with good bedding and pillows. The bathrooms are very elegant. The location is excellent as you can walk right out on to the esplanade. Great gym with all Cybex equipment.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the Esplanade. The usual rules apply, higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

In terms of location it is hard to beat the Kamp - just seconds from the narrow Esplanade park that runs up from the central port, ferries, central market and on each side of the Esplandi (pohjoisesplanadi - North Esplanade and etaläesplanadi - South Esplanade) there are the luxury shops and a nice bar in the middle of the park. Helsinki is a very nice city and this hotel is right in the centre of the nicest part. Room was a good size, backing onto the inside of a city block and so quiet, well fitted decorated, and a good size bathroom with both shower and separate bath - no cheating on space. Breakfast was a buffet and good, but not an outstanding selection, but at Euro 29 per person, quite expensive for a buffet.
The one major gripe that I might seem to be on a small point but it is over internet access. In a country that is home to a major mobile manufacturer and a pretty technologically advanced society one would expect access to Wi-Fi etc as standard. Now on parts of the metro system ( which is only a small system) I got free access to a Wi-Fi called metro which I assume was a transport sponsored network; free Wi-Fi access at the airport, a reasonable number of businesses around Helsinki offer free Wi-Fi access including a small coffee kiosk, not much larger than a phone booth, we came across on the foreshore when stopping for a rest and a coffee. Given all this the hotel charge for Wi-Fi at Euro 7 per hour or Euro 19 per day just seemed inexplicable. Now you might say that given the room cost for a hotel like this what am I worried about an extra Euro 19 for Wi-Fi (but this is per day), or that if there is free Wi-Fi nearby what is the big deal - fair point to a degree but equally given a hotel of this standard and room cost to be asked to pay Euro 19 per day for what is a simple and becoming universal service just left me with a sour taste in my mouth - a matter of principle. I would have expected this basic modern service to just be standard.
In summary, great location, nice hotel, but I left with the feeling that no opportunity to relieve me of every Euro cent possible had been missed and that took the edge off the stay a bit. Pity really, because the other things the hotel has going for it are good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel Kämp is located in the heart of Helsinki - you couldn't find better location! Tourist attractions, shops and the restaurants are just few minutes walk from the hotel.
Interior is nice and rich, but not too stiff. Staff is friendly and professional.
Rooms are spacious and elegant on their own way, with all the modern facilities you will need.
I would recommend this hotel almost for all;
- for businesspeople (privacy, location, good night sleep)
- for couples (privacy, great service and romance-packages)
- to pamper yourself if solo
- to tourists who are looking for a high-quality accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the week ending August 17th, 2012. Hotel very well located and services just okay, but not up to Starwood Platinum standards. We've found that European "Luxury Collection" properties can be very erratic, and this one is on the lower end. Rooms are on the smaller side, charming but a bit tired and dated. Hotel *VERY* seriously understaffed (one bellman, maximum of two desk clerks, and *NO* other guest service staff in evidence), with many service shortfalls, service express phone not answered, long waits in the lobby for very simple requests, no engineereing staff on site, etc. Staff very sweet polite but on some level seem to be just phoning it in, i.e., no engagement (with one or two exceptions). HVAC erratic to completely non-existent.

Room Tip: Don't just take the first room offered -- ask to see several and see what matches your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.