We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed there on business and it was a very pleasant stay. Professional and friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, only free wi-fi is missing. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    236
    78
    20
    5
See reviews for
112
258
80
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times while on business in Helsinki and the location is excellent, right in the center of everything though given it's such a small city it would hard not to be.
One day I did not get receive the breakfast I had ordered by sticking the order on the outside doorknob as per the instructions although others in my hallway had judging by the finished trays outside some other doors - not good when you have back to back meetings throughout the day and were relying on breakfast to get you through the day! Front desk did admittedly offer me an upgrade next time I stayed (I was leaving that day) and took the previous night's dinner off the bill so the complaint was handled very well though as a business traveller I would have preferred the breakfast to my company saving on my evening dinner. Apart from this one incident service has always been top notch.
The only complaint I have is that the decor is a bit over the top, they are going for the luxury look but it ended up more like Russian oligarch's view of luxury than standard good European taste, they should have forked out a bit more money for an interior designer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and thought it was a great hotel. The location can't be beat: it opens right onto the Esplanade and main shopping district; it's a pleasant walk to both the train station and harbour. Our room faced the interior courtyard, so the only view was of the rooftop garden and surrounding offices. The room was on the smaller side (average for European city hotels); however the bathroom was large and very modern (with a definite "luxury" atmosphere). Had the weather been a little nicer we would have tried the bicycles available to guests. The central location and overall style of the hotel would attract us to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Had one night weekend stay with. As SPG platinum checked in early and was offered late checkout 4pm. Got a gift as platinum small bottle of nice red wine and box of fazer chocolate. Was also upgraded to nice Jr Suite. Breakfast is truly not worth the 29€ pp which is rip-off by any standards. Had nice sandwich and cup of coffee for 9€ at opposite Fazer cafe which btw. offers weekday a decent buffet breakfast for 10.80€ - just 10 steps from main entrance of the Kamp Hotel :) Bed is so good that had serious difficulty of getting up in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed with wife and our baby boy for four nights in a an Executive room. Overall a very disappointing experience. Besided a good city location Hotel Kamp cannot really claim to be a true five star hotel.

Negatives
-Lack of consistent service (from doormen to front desk to housekeeping)
-Room was dated and cramped - not an "executive" feeling...
-Limited variety for breakfast
-Dining 1: Brasserie Kamp had a limited menu, and "value for money" very questionable
-Dining 2: Ordered in-room dining one night and paid +35 EUR for a rubber steak (excluding 12 EUR tray charge)

Positive
-Staff was friendly in Brasserie Kamp

Cannot recommend Hotel kamp.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hotel is beautiful, reception staff are welcoming and friendly form start to finish.
Sadly breakfast staff are as arrogant as I have experienced anywhere and combined with a fairly standard buffet, 29 euros each person, each morning is a rip off. The staff were genuinely rude to my wife and I, just as they were on our previous stay. I can only imagine it's the same for other guests.
Some bar staff were also quite rude. Our wedding party were lierally ordered to leave the bar without being asked if we were residents so we had to take our full drinks back to our rooms. Dont we pay for the privelige of a late night bar, considering it is a 5 star hotel? To be fair this was just 2 of the staff, the rest were decent.
Our room was beautiful but if you look closely, there was alot of dust in the bathroom, on top of mirrors, behind doors etc. Also the tv was a nightmare as it took up to 15 seconds to change channels etc.
After leaving the hotel, I received a feedback form in which I mentioned the above info and never heard back, so we are unlikely to return there again.
This is a pretty hotel in a great location but many locals do not rate it as the best in town. There are a few others nearby that offer a superior service with a smile at lower cost but without the beautiful decor,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I used up my SPG points to stay here with a Finnish friend before we went en route to Tampere. What you'd expect from a 5 star hotel - fabulously comfortable beds and clean stylish rooms. Of note are the large marble bathrooms with standalone bath and separate modern jet showers. Heavenly! Shame the King Size/Twin rooms didn't have a mini private sauna - it is Finland after all!

Location is also worth it - really central, 7 minutes walk from the mainline station and in the pedestrianised shopping district.

However the Kamp didn't offer any extra special touches that you would expect from a 5 star hotel and for that price (e.g. a turn down service, tea making facilities). So it doesn't score full points. Breakfasts were not included and just a little bit overpriced. Go across the road to the Fazer cafe instead!

In summary - not bad. Could do better if you're someone who knows what 5 star could offer...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.