We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa review : amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamp

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“spa review : amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was not an hotel guest but I was tired of my trip in the Helsinki rainy centre and I tried to have luck asking a massage in the spa.I was lucky! the massage with a Miss L., a serious and professional therapist with golden hands was faboulos! The classic (sport) massage of 55 minutes was "only" (considering Helsinki prices and the luxurious hotel compound) 84 euro! the best thing was the complimentary use of the thermal brand new spa inside, componing of classic finnish sauna, steam grotto, hamman (big with impressive decor), holistic shower and relaxation area. the international touch was the mixed guest access (quite uncommon in Finland) that I found pleasant because I don't liked naked people around me (better mixed but covered that naked of the same sex) but this is a personal opinion.
definitely go, it was not busy at all, and after that 2 hours I feel a real diva!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    203
    64
    19
    3
See reviews for
93
223
70
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I had the destinct displeasure of staying in this 5 star hotel on 16 and 17th August 2011 & had all of my preccription medication stolen from my wash bag in the bathroom of my room. I must warn fellow travelers to beware of prescription medication thefts in this hotel, as having spoken to several others on our trip I discovered that they had antibiotics stolen as well. The reception staff were going to look into it and provide me with details of their investigations into the electronic key card activation to my room. It is now the 30th August & I have not had the reply!
Fellow travellers lock your prescription medication in your safe when staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Kamp on a last-minute weekend getaway. Its location is outstanding - a stone's throw from the vast majority of places of interest, to include the train station. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful and our room was large, bright, and well-appointed. The business center is tiny, with only two computers, and there are no time limits placed on users when others are waiting. This can be trying when a thoughtless guest camps out for an extended period. The bar was closed when we were there and we did not make use of the spa facilities. The breakfast at the hotel is outrageously priced, so we walked down to the market and had suitable, filling meals for a fraction the cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was very disappointed with this hotel and the spa. I thought I would be staying in a real 5 star european hotel. This was clearly not that case. While the location is great. The hotel is tired (i.e., stains on carpeting, no alarm clocks in the rooms, old beds, etc.) and the staff (with the exception of Benny -- who was nice and helpful), was not very pleasant (mostly the front desk women). I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone. The hotel next door seemed to be a better choice. SPG you should be ashamed of yourself for marketing this hotel as 5 star. Also, spend some time training staff on basic customer service skills. What a total let down....

Room Tip: Request an early arrival room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Extremely comfortable and well-located. Standard rooms were large, well furnished and quiet. Service was top-notch and staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our tour of Scandinavia.

Only a few minor complaints. The gym was closed for several hours in the middle of the day and the shower stall was rather cramped and small.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserstuhl, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Kamp is centrally located and very elegant.
It is a places for celebrities in Helsinki (e.g. Rolling Stones stayed there) and it is cozy also for normal people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I've stayed at Kamp now on four separate business trips. The hotel is in one of the best locations in Helsinki - easily walkable to nearly all sights, nightlife, and good restaurants. Also it is very convenient to the central station, metro, ferries to Suomenllina, and boats to Talinn/Stockholm.

The rooms here are very nice, and are large by European standards. The bathrooms are especially large and well done. The beds are comfortable and there's plenty of storage space. On the occasions where I've had special requests (firmer pillows, etc.) the hotel has been very accommodating. One minor complaint is the television - the channels change very slowly and take a second or two of skipping before they become watchable.

The service is usually good; when there have been questions on my bill, etc., they have always been resolved promptly. One area of major complaint is the room service offering and food offering in general. The room service menu is quite poor, very expensive, and does not very well describe the dishes, so what you end up getting is a bit of a surprise. Overall, I find the food options at the hotel very disappointing. However, the gym facility is very nice as is the spa.

Kamp is a Helsinki institution and in general it's a great hotel. I'd appreciate a bit more attention to the detail and an improved offering for meals and room service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kämp, the only five star hotel in the country, is worth traveling to Finland all on its own. Situated in city center near shopping & business district, Hotel Kämp has 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. All rooms have a spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. Palace Kämp Day Spa and the hotel private gym and sauna facilities are at the service of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.