We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gallery with love and thought behind it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo)

Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo)
Mannerheiminaukio 2, Helsinki FIN-00100 , Finland
9-1733-6501
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #22 of 148 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gallery with love and thought behind it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I am so glad I spent my one afternoon in Helsinki in this gallery.

Well designed and family friendly. It's really nice that some of the works are interactive and you are actively invited to touch them. The layout was faultless and the pieces had room to be considered and appreciated.

I wish I had more time and therefore could watch the films that are shown on the ground floor.

Really enjoyed the exhibitions and works, which are all important and thought-provoking.

The designers and staff all clearl have a passion for art which results in an excellent space.

Worth the entrance fee.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    91
    40
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Kiasma would have to be the most wonderful place to spend a few hours. Each exhibit is a joy, some are interactive, some are not. My first visit was in 2008 and since then each time I travel to Helsinki I never miss visiting this incredible museum.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Kiasma museum is beautiful and filled with interesting pieces of art. A good way to spend a couple of hours at a fair price.

The current exhibition with the works of Alfredo Jaar is highly recommendable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mindblowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Kiasma museum is located close to Helsinki's central train station. When I visited they were running the Kiasma Hits, Together and Alfredo Jaar's exhibition. I was quite honestly mind-blown by some of the art pieces inside. Lots of food for thought.

I only had two hours to visit the museum, but I wished I'd be able to stay for much longer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Neat Art!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Really interesting contemporary art in this museum. Movies, interactive things, illusions, etc. I enjoyed it very much and I would definitely recommend it. Doesn't take long, maybe 1.5 hours or even less!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma (Nykytaiteen Museo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;