We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice concept” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu

Save Saved
You added Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lonnrotinkatu 13, Helsinki 00120 , Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Porvoo
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A nice concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Omenahotel concept is interesting, a self-service hotel. If you accept this and don't expect too much, you should be happy to stay in one of them. The room I stayed in, reminded me of any room of Ibis hotels in Europe. Simple, but clean. To my surprise, the hotel was peaceful and the sleeping quality quite ok. The room price was reasonable, but they can also rise quite high. The location is very good to explore the wonders of Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    71
    45
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
36
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Omena ("apple" in Finnish) is a self-service hotel. You don't meet nor do you talk to any staff. You receive your door code by email and manage by yourself (there are spare towels and bed linen, should you need them). The rooms are cleaned every five days (I stayed for four, so mine wasn't) and when guests leave. My room was in impeccable condition, with a window overlooking an inner courtyard so it was quiet. The bed was quite comfortable and so was the red sofa that doubles as a second bed (red is the overall color scheme in the rooms). There was a large flat screen TV, a microwave oven, coffee and tea. Don't expect luxury, but it's functional, clean and comfortable. An important part is also that the location is smack in the middle of the city center and really couldn't be much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Relative to the rest of the hotels in Helsinki, the price is good... but the hotel economizes in stupid ways... there's no reception... you're given a door code to access the building and room - this was supposed to come by SMS, but never arrived. fortunately, they also sent an email... but what if I didn't happen to check??? I'd have been stranded.. with no reception to turn to.
The room was OK for two, but we booked for 3 and the extra bed was terrible.
... AND the worst part is the check-in/out times... check-in is at 16:00 and check-out at 12:00 BUT there's no flexibility and no reception or baggage storage... I requested an earlier check-in and sent several follow up emails and never got a response.
I'll give it an "average" because there was nothing glaringly wrong and they partly disclosed a lot of the short-comings, but pretty poor organizations. The only bright side was the location is good and the cleaning staff were sympathetic and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in a courtyard building for one night in the middle of the week and got lucky with our neighbours: it was really quiet throughout the night. Our room was clean and there was everything we needed but the bathroom floor was freezing.

Basic Apple hotel, nothing too fancy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hi the hotel stay was fine. as this was a business trip, it was a decent set up. however I do have a huge issue with the booking. I asked for a invoice for the stay and hotel said that I will have to take the invoice from the website i have booked they cannot give me an invoice. and ii have only received a booking confirmation from the website.

As this is a business stay I need to claim this money from my office and without an invoice this is difficult. can you please send me the invoice urgently. I have sent this request to easytobook.com but haven't received any reply.

regards
Prashant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What Omena do is functionality and value for money. The location is 10 minutes’ easy walk from Helsinki station and airport bus stop, and 5 minutes from the main downtown tram stop; the room is clean and fairly spacious, with a comfortable bed, well-functioning bathroom, free Wi-Fi, microwave, fridge, TV with BBC World. This makes it very good value for money (I paid 45 euro a night). The reason they can do this is that there are no staff on site. You book and pay through the Internet, they send you a key code one day before, and you use the code to open the front door, operate the lift, and open your room door. The systems works perfectly, and there is a 24-hour manned phone-line in case of difficulties. The only slight negative point is that the curtain doesn’t completely cut out the bright lights in the street outside. Overall, it’s an excellent model for countries where labour costs are astronomical. There is an option for breakfast, but that is rather poor value compared with what you can get nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, room was nice and clean.
After an hour, a few drunk guests at the hotel started yelling, hitting doors!
We locked ourselves in and waited until the morning.
We left as soon as the sun came up, tough we paid for 3 nights!
Don't go there!
Still waiting for mail back from them after we complained and asked for refund!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu

Address: Lonnrotinkatu 13, Helsinki 00120 , Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omena Hotel Lonnrotinkatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.