We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helsinki Trip 6/14” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu

Save Saved
You added Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yrjonkatu 30, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Webster, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Helsinki Trip 6/14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

While the concept for this hotel may be a bit unnerving for some people, we found we really enjoyed ourselves. There is no reception instead you are sent a five digit code that you use to enter the hotel front door, the same code is entered to get into the lobby, onto the elevator, and to enter your room. So, if carrying your own bags is a problem, this is not the place for you. Once we were used to the concept, we really liked being on our own. Our room consisted of twin beds, a flat screen television, two chairs that fold into beds, two other chairs and a table. There is also a refrigerator, microwave, and teapot. If you take advantage of the refrigerator, you should know that there are two supermarkets near the train station and the liquor store is next to one of the supermarkets. Back to the room. There is no maid service unless you stay longer than five days but we are an older mostly neat couple so it wasn't an issue. There are staff working in the hotel cleaning rooms so if you have an issue, you can call on the lobby phone and someone will come to your room immediately. We liked that no one came in our room but not everyone would so think before you book. Personally, I think it is a great concept. This branch of the hotel is right in downtown Helsinki and within walking distance to most everywhere. There was only one issue and that is that there really isn't any air conditioning and most of the windows don't open. This wasn't an issue while we were there as the weather was quite cool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omenahotels, Chief Customer Officer at Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi NancyPicthallFrench,

and thank you so much for the feedback!

It really makes me glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and like the concept! We are really working on making the quality of our services as good as possible and feedback like this is important so that we know we are going in the right direction (:

The air-ventilation system is something we are aware of and we are looking into finding solutions to improve it.

So thank you once more, hope to see you again and have a great summer!

Kind regards,

Heidi / Chief Customer Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
32
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you want to stay in the city center at a reasonable price, you can choose Omena. However, you should be aware of that there is no reception (so you have to use the free phone every time you have a problem with the code for instance) and you can not open the windows. The air condition is not satisfactory. I felt like a prisoner during my two-night stay and I regret my choice of hotel.
In addition, the room is not very nice either. The bathroom is a separate module in plastic and not very comfortable. But I must add that there is a kettle with free coffee and tea and a fridge for your own things.
Of course, there is no breakfast, but luckily enough, you have the two best breakfasts in the neighbourhood: Krulla's and Café Ekberg.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omenahotels, Chief Customer Officer at Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi fitzbenedict

Thank you for the review and I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't of the best quality.

The air-ventilation system is somthing we are aware of and we are curretly looking into solutions on making it better. The windows again are not for security reasons allowed to be opened.

I apologize for any inconveniences that you had to experience during your stay but it's still nice to hear that our Customer Service was available to assist in anyway possible. We will continue to work on making the quality of our services better for the future.

Thank you again for the feedback and have a great summer! (:

Kind regards,

Heidi / Chief Customer Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I would agree with all mentioned before: good location, value for money, which is hard to find in Helsinki; our room was clean, beds were comfortable and all appliances working. However there are several faults I have to mention here. The shower gel/soap bottle in the bathroom is of no use at all - unhygienic and awkward in use, why not putting a usual soap dispenser? No hanger and no shower caddy in the bathroom - that's really awkward! This is not very expensive affair to put a shower caddy I believe :) And the most annoying- after taking the shower the entire bathroom floor turns into a little swimming pool! Certainly there should be some way to control the water flow, you know, the last one who is to take a shower in a family is not comfortable at all. Other than these shortbacks Omena is a decent hotel and very likely I'll use it again regarding the affordable prices and railway station proximity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have stayed at Omena hotels several times with mixed emotions. Lately the experiences has got better and better. They have really good locations and this one is in the heart of the city. The price is really affordable and probably the best rate/value that can be found. Rooms are also surprisingly big. The only small minus for me as a business traveler is that they lack an iron in the room. If they would have an iron, I would stay more often. I can however recommend Omena.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The location is central, the rooms are clean and most importantly it’s travelling on a budget at its best. Amazing value compared to the many other expensive hotels located in Helsinki City Centre. Would stay here again. Great city too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Good location, decent size room and bed, walking distance to most things including train station and bus station, close to the hotel Torni for a drink on the top floor. No staff or front desk, just codes, as the title says, its a good cheap way of exploring Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We needed just one short night very close to the railway station, and this hotel was perfect for that purpose. There's no reception and no breakfast. The door code was sent by e-mail the day before and then again by SMS on the checkin day, and there was no problem accessing the lobby, the elevator and then the room with this code. The room was clean and cheerfully furnished, the beds comfortable, and it was very quiet in spite of being on the street side. Internet and TV worked just fine. We paid 74 Euros for two persons.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu

Address: Yrjonkatu 30, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omena Hotel Yrjonkatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.