We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice brunch / lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alia

Alia
Mustikkamaankuja 1, Helsinki, Finland
+358 9 66 00 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 1,012 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice brunch / lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Had the three course brunch / lunch. First they had a great bufé off starters, then fish or meat as main course, end then finally a dessert bufé. All food was very good (I had the fish).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent food, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Been there 3 times, one of those was a party we had there. Says something about the quality. Owners have another restaurant that has a Michelin star in the Helsinki centre. This one's a bit more casual one. Food's excellent, trying to be local, Finnish basic food while doing it in a way that sometimes surprises even us without overdoing it. The place is an old mansion, renovated beautifully and it's located near Korkeasaari so you may be able to fit it in on the same visit. It's not cheap but it's not one of the most expensive, either.

Open only during summer so make sure it's open before going all the way there.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The perfect brunch/lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The old villa on Mustikkamaa is very charming and we liked it directly. We had a table at the terrace on a hot summer day and the atmosphere on the terrace was excellent. Our waitress had attitude and was very professional and nice. She also had good knowledge about the wines.

We had the three-course brunch/lunch. The starters (artichokes, duck breast, wonderful prawn sallad, new potatoes...) and dessert (a lot of different cakes and cheeses) buffets were exceptionally good and we loved the main course as well. It might be the best starters buffet I've ever had.

They could add some more sparkling wines to their wine list, but on the other hand, they have quite many champagnes.

Perfect brunch/lunch! I recommend it to anyone who likes to spend hours eating brunch in a relaxed environment! It's definitely worth the price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Riding on the fame of Postres”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Alia is a new restaurant opened in May 2010 by the owners of Postres, a Michelin star restaurant in Helsinki. While their food is very good, it's not quite the MIchelin-star level, and that's why their prices seem a bit steep (having settled nicely on the Michelin-star level).

We have tried this restaurant twice: their Sunday brunch in July and their à la carte just recently. We were very happy with the brunch, as for 38 € you get a *delicious* three course meal (starters and desserts from an upscale buffet, and a warm main course, plus a glass of bubbly!). Also, on that Sunday we had a very attentive waiter and the atmosphere on the terrace was excellent!

Encouraged by the nice Sunday in July, we decided to try out their à la carte on a Friday evening in October. We reserved a table at 7 P.M., and only at the restaurant door realized that the kitchen would close at 8 (on a FRIDAY EVENING!!!). Also, it turned out that only their verandah was open as the restaurant was hosting a wedding in the main hall the next day. The verandah was very brightly lit in the dark autumn evening, which made it feel almost industrial in a way - not the best atmosphere for a romantic dinner for two. Even though we had reserved well in advance (and the restaurant was half empty), we were first shown to one of two tables: on either side of the main doors and just next to the bar. Only when we said that if they were the only tables they were able to offer, we'd dine somewhere else that evening, did the waitress arrange for another table in a nicer part of the restaurant.

Food was nice: we had a steak tartare and a shellfish soup for starters, a flank steak and salmon for mains and a chocolate soufflé and an apple tart for desserts, and had ´great help from the waitress with deciding on the wine pairings for each portion. Everything was very good, nothing was spectacular, and wines very also well chosen. For 187 euros in total for a complete dinner for two, you can get much better fare in Helsinki, though, and, most importantly, in a much nicer setting and better quality of service.

The poor quality of service cannot be blamed on the sole waitress of the evening, though; if the restaurants has decided to put just ONE person to wait on almost 20 people, it's obvious that they can't be everywhere at the same time.

So, Alia could be an excellent restaurant: its food is of very high standard. I would be ready to pay 187 euros for a dinner for two again, if the service and the atmosphere were up to the same level with the food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alia also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Alia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.