We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place with delicious meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaelsa

Vaelsa
Annankatu 4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
+358 09 698 0012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 1,016 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Haifa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice place with delicious meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The choice of meals is not very wide (probably 5 pasta types and 5-6 others) but the proposed ones are excellent. The price is more then reasonable for Helsinki.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty, friendly and qreat quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were on a quest to find decent Pasta Carbonara in Helsinki a couple of weeks ago. Surprisingly few Italian restaurants seem to offer it these days (maybe it's not all that trendy right now?) but we stumbled across Vaelsa's website and decided to go and have a look :)

The restaurant looks pretty new and fresh, and I had not heard of it before, so it probably has just recently opened its doors? Seemed very authentic to me with an Italian owner and apparently homemade pasta, and the prices were also a lovely surprise - hard to find restaurants in Helsinki these days that can provide this great price/quality ratio. Hope they are able to keep this up! :)

The Carbonara - since that is why we were there the first place - was nice, thick and from what I can tell very authentic. Just as it should be. Personally I did find it perhaps a bit too salty, but of course that's a matter of opinion. My boyfriend, for instance, did not share this opinion with me.

The owner should be very proud of this place. We need more restaurants like this in Helsinki!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE pasta lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I work around the corner and visit the place once or twice a week for lunch. It has excellent price/quality pasta lunch every day mon-fri. For below 10e (summer 2013) you get a true trip to Italia.
The Italian/Finnish owner really knows what's she's doing. They make their own pasta as well. If there's pasta Carbonara or Amatritciana available, you can't go wrong. Check the lunch list beforehand if you're picky.
Tried the non-pasta dinner once, but wasn't that special. If you speak Italian, feel free, most of them do.
(Somehow I get to choose to visit only to 08/12 but last visit was in June -13.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Mamma mia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Absolutely fantastic! Service was patient, polite, friendly. And some italian lessons included :-) too
Tutti bene, tutto bene.....
Food was so good! We tasted pasta, tuna, bird, and dolce, icecream and tiramisu. Vegetables were all dente just perfecto!

This is my new faworit Italian restaurant in Helsinki. I will come back and take my friends with me too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Give it a try....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Small restaurant not far from the center. Tasty food, great service and good wine choice. Not that cheap but affordable.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaelsa also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Vaelsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaelsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.