We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel Fabian - Helsinki, Finland

A fine hotel, decently priced, and certainly a good value. The staff was excellent. The design of the hotel was exquisite and our rooms were lovely. We stayed initially for several days and then in a different room for one more night before returning to the United States. A spacious and beautifully designed room with clever use of space in the sleeping area and in the bathroom afforded us a most comfortable and enjoyable visit to Helsinki. Lovely court yard – request a room over-looking it. Breakfast was excellent. Centrally located on a quiet street within walking distance of the must see parts of Helsinki. Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it for anyone visiting Helsinki. Highly recommended. August 2014 – Howard & Marie

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    150
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
100
300
63
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the Fabian during an extensive Europe trip. I struggled what to rate this hotel. I ultimately chose average, which is to say it's good, but not very good/excellent. We travel Europe quite often and try to stay in reasonably upscale rooms. We found the Fabian to be a nice property, with a decent (though relatively small) rooms. We had a terrace on our room, which was nice. Bathrooms are average size and nicely appointed. The breakfast/common areas were very good. The service was excellent. The biggest downside to the stay was the very poor air-conditioning. For an upscale/luxury hotel, we expect to be able to stay reasonably cool at night. The air-conditioning during the summer was active, but never did it get any cooler than 73-74 degrees Fahrenheit. To the credit of the reception, they did offer us a fan. Maybe we're a little spoiled, but when it's hot in Europe we feel like an upscale hotel should offer the option of staying a little cooler than 73-74 degress. So we slept with the windows open, which caused us to have poor sleep due to the sunlight that comes in early in the morning. Lastly, everyone should know that the terraces face a courtyard, which is nice. There are at least 1 or 2 large suites that are right at ground level on the courtyard. When we were there, there were several families with many small infants and children. They were pretty loud with children crying and it echo'd up to our room/terrace. Even kept us up at night when we had the windows open to sleep. I realize the hotel can't control loud children, but just be aware that I'm guessing that it's pretty normal for families to rent those rooms due to their size and ground proximity. So I have a feeling during the summer, the noise from children is probably fairly common. I don't want this review to sound too negative. The hotel was nice, just not great. I wish there was a category between average and very good in Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFabian, Johtaja at Fabian Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Robert_Chicago_60660,

Thank you for your review and stay in Hotel Fabian.
I truly apologize for the inconvenience with the air conditioning not working properly in your room. It has been a very challenging summer for us as it has been the warmest in 50 years in Finland. We are investigating the problem with our maintenance to ensure comfortable room temperatures in the future.
We wish you a nice and bright autumn and hope to see you here again!
With Sincere Regards, Anna Alamaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We are a family with a dog and they proposed us one of the two top floor rooms with perfectly decent price. The room was even better than I thought as it had also a balcony, small kitchenette and lovely bathroom with very nice shampoos and all the little things you (may) need. The room was nicely decorated, modern but charming. The bed was very large and comfortable. They had even brought cups for the dog which was a really nice touch.
The breakfast was continental style and you could ask anything you like on top. And open until 11 AM, which for us is a huge plus. Restaurant is also stylishly decorated with a nice quiet patio on the back. Location is excellent as not far from anywhere but in a quiet street. They rent bicycles too. Shops in proximity (Alko next door). All in all, great place to stay. Indeed the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are bit more spacious than the others and have balcony. Of course also bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in the heart oh Helsinki. The hotel is beautifully decorated with soothing colors and nice furniture. The rooms are a good size. The staff is helpful, warm and friendly. The breakfast is delicious. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights July 28th to August 4th. Loved this hotel, the staff were amazing and the included breakfasts had something for everyone. Location was perfect, close to the centre of the city but in a quiet part of town. Very safe to walk around on my own as a single female. Comfort room was large and beautifully decorated. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again. All of the staff were very friendly and knowledgable and genuinely looked pleased to see you when you entered the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The stay in the Fabian hotel was a big success. It has 58 rooms, is clean, cozy and nicely decorated. Breakfast is fresh and some of the good is organic (bio). What made our stay exceptional and comfortable wax the staff: very friendly and always very helpful with arrangements in the city such as planning a trip, giving advise how to get to the specific places. You really get the feeling of being their guests. The hotel is not a luxury one ( is not intended to be) but all services meet the highest standards of a four star place. When in Helsinki, we will certainly come back there and recommend the Fabian our friends.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Really great location we could walk everywhere really easily!
The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with everything you need and the air conditioning was lovely as we visited when Finland was at its hottest ever !
Staff are very friendly and helpful and provide maps and lots of local information, the locals map for the area was very useful and we found all the restaurants they recommended really good especially the chinese Nanking!
All in all a great stay in Helsinki would definitely recommend and not too expensive !
Happy Holidays

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.