We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home base for 4 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful home base for 4 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our stay here was excellent. The location is great - close to the waterfront and all the sites, but off the main road, which keeps it peaceful and quiet. We loved starting our day in the breakfast room with oatmeal, nuts and raisins, fruit and yogurt - very tasty! - and ending our day by having a drink in the courtyard after sightseeing.
We were in a style room on the top floor, and couldn't believe how quiet it was....we never heard a sound from outside or from other rooms. I have to say though that the room was smaller than I expected, however, we managed fine for the 4 days we were here.
The service was excellent as well, and we would totally recommend this hotel as the place to stay in Helsinki!
I haven't attached any pictures of the room, since they are exactly as shown on the site.

Room Tip: The top floor facing the courtyard is quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    112
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
248
47
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We picked Hotel Fabian based on Tripadvisor reviews and really could not have been happier. The location is perfect for walking tours of the design district, the Esplanade, shopping at Marimekko and Stockman, countless museums, and hundreds of restaurants. There was nothing we wanted to see that wasn't within a 30 minute walk. There is a grocery store just across the square, and an Alko (beer, wine, and spirits) shop literally next door.

Fabian is a boutique hotel with relatively few rooms. The rooms themselves are not overly large, but are like new, super-clean, with modern Nordic design. The bed was blissfully comfortable and the shower a large rain type with lots of pressure.

Breakfast was typical of European hotels: a nice mix of fresh fruit (love the berries!), meusli, yogurt, cheese and ham, and hot porridge. There is a small sitting area near the front desk where the staff serves coffee or drinks. We spent a couple of hours of down time there drinking wine and putting the house chess set to good use.

What really sets Fabian apart is the superb service. No matter what we asked, wanted, or needed, we were answered with a cheerful "no problem." The staff went out of their way to be sure we understood where everything was, to offer many good suggestions for meals, to make bookings for dinner or tours, and to check on open hours and the like. I had a business "emergency" while there and the staff went above and beyond to help me download, print, and scan several documents.

In short, we couldn't recommend Fabian more highly.

Room Tip: Ask whether the construction next door is finished or not. If not, get a room on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had three nights at the Fabian hotel. Excellent location, very quiet, super staff and fantastic breakfasts. We had booked a "Style" room - the description on the hotel website indicated that this would be a spacious room, and the photos indicated that the room would come with a sofa, or at least with comfortable armchairs. While the room was nicely appointed and stylish, it was small and had no sofa or armchairs which was disappointing. We would certainly stay here again but would be sure to check first that our room matched the promise of the website.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was everything we expected from previous reviews. From the warm welcome at Reception on arrival, to the time we left, the staff provided faultless service. This is a small and friendly hotel ideally situated in a quiet backstreet but within a few minutes of the main shopping area, close to the main attractions and the harbour. The room was large, clean and the huge bed comfortable with good quality bedding. The bathroom only had a shower but the cubicle was larger than normal and the tiled floor was heated which was pleasing. Continental breakfast was awesome with cold meats and cheeses, various breads, fresh fruit salad and cereals - all of an excellent quality. No restaurant but you can get a voucher from reception for a free glass of champagne (Veuve Clicquot) for you and your partner if you dine at the Hotel Haven just down the road and by the harbour. From what I could see, none of the rooms had a view; ours overlooked a small courtyard where you can have breakfast if you wished to sit outside. This is a gem of a hotel and deserving of the Tripadvisor rating. Only downside when we were there was the 7.30 early morning call of the builders working in the adjacent building. If this gives you cause for concern, ask for a room at the front of the building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

excellent location within easy walking distance of the esplanade and harbor. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the courtyard. It was very quiet until about 7 am when construction began on a building next door. Room was excellent-no issues at all. Front desk very helpful. Breakfast buffet was good (selection could be better and coffee not of Swedish strength). Nice sun porch and outside courtyard. Fast wi-fi connection. Absolutely would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Well appointed hotel and beautifully located Decor was very attractive contemporary and unique
Would have liked a choice of pillows they were too hard for me and room was too warm at night Our carpet had a small tear in it that needed mending

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Fabian is within easy walking distance of the Esplanade and its many shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. It is also just a few steps away from tourist sites such as the harbour and Senate Square.

From the outside, the building looked pretty ordinary. Once inside, the reception area and the lounge were attractively decorated in a contemporary style. The bedroom was also very comfortable, roomy and stylishly fitted. The inner courtyard also was very handy on our one sunny day. Staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful in helping us find what we needed in the city. Breakfast buffet was tasty and varied.

Overall, the Fabian is very well maintained. I was happy to call it my home away from home. I intend to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.