We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

excellent location within easy walking distance of the esplanade and harbor. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the courtyard. It was very quiet until about 7 am when construction began on a building next door. Room was excellent-no issues at all. Front desk very helpful. Breakfast buffet was good (selection could be better and coffee not of Swedish strength). Nice sun porch and outside courtyard. Fast wi-fi connection. Absolutely would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    124
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
256
47
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Well appointed hotel and beautifully located Decor was very attractive contemporary and unique
Would have liked a choice of pillows they were too hard for me and room was too warm at night Our carpet had a small tear in it that needed mending

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Fabian is within easy walking distance of the Esplanade and its many shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. It is also just a few steps away from tourist sites such as the harbour and Senate Square.

From the outside, the building looked pretty ordinary. Once inside, the reception area and the lounge were attractively decorated in a contemporary style. The bedroom was also very comfortable, roomy and stylishly fitted. The inner courtyard also was very handy on our one sunny day. Staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful in helping us find what we needed in the city. Breakfast buffet was tasty and varied.

Overall, the Fabian is very well maintained. I was happy to call it my home away from home. I intend to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

It's no wonder this hotel is rated number 1 on Trip Advisor. It is perfectly situated near the harbor and city center, is meticulously maintained and modern and employs the most attentive and helpful staff. This made our stay in Helsinki most pleasant.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Me and my wife both love cozy hotels (my wife even more than I) so we were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled upon this place. It's located just a stone-throw away from the main shopping street in Helsinki and it's very affordable as well. A very rewarding experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Got off the plane at the airport, followed the BIG sign that said exit, and then took the 615 bus to the train station right downtown. Fifteen minute walk to the hotel. Had to work a bit at orientating to the map but was helped by a friendly local person. In other words, getting to the Fabian is easy.

Quick and friendly checkin. Internet access. Terrific shower with lots of pressure. There is a supermarket (ask at front desk where to find the S Market) nearby where you can get cheap nibbles and beer.

Hotel room decor is modern and updated.

The hotel is within walking distance to everything.

Enjoy!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel from July 7th to July 13 of this year. Upon our arrival and throughout the entire stay the staff was completely accommodating in every way. They offered us discount coupons on the nearby underground parking for our rental car which came in very handy as parking in Helsinki is very expensive. They also directed us to locations where we could find good souvenirs that were moderately priced, as well as gave us directions and maps to local restaurants. Prior to our check in they sent us information on the ferries with links so that we could purchase our tickets prior to arrival for a day trip to Tallin.

The daily breakfast buffet is very nice, with fresh fruits, breads, soft boiled eggs, pastries, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee. Probably the thing that touched my heart the most is on the first morning I appeared at a very early hour seeking coffee. The immediately made coffee for me and every subsequent day after when I came down early the coffee was made for me, that was super nice.

The room we had was very well appointed and I suppose my only complaint would be that it would have been nice to have curtains that blacked out the light a little better as in July it doesn't really ever get very dark.

I would highly recommend this small gem of a hotel to any one visiting Helsinki.

Great job and many thanks to the entire staff for our wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.