We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Fabian was well placed in Helsinki within easy walking distance of parks, squares and harbour areas. The room was very new and clean and was ideal for two people. The staid were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was pretty good too. I would have no issue recommending this hotel for a good nights sleep and access to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    119
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
251
47
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Fabian is a fantastic hotel – one of the best I’ve stayed in.

(1) Great location, very central but still in a quiet road (10 minutes walk to Market Square)
(2) Fluent English speaking staff – very useful as my attempts at Finnish were beyond laughable!
(3) Clean!
(4) We had a King comfort room, and it was huge. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower one of the best designed I’ve been in for a long while.
(5) Fantastic breakfasts, continental style, with self service. If you’re of a mind to have hot food though, note that porridge and boiled eggs is all you get. This isn’t a greasy spoon. I personally tucked into more salmon than I though was humanly possible.
(6) If you find drink and food expensive for Helsinki (and it is) you are 5 minutes walk from a supermarket and a dozen steps from a wine shop.

Points to be aware of:
(1) Small bar area/kitchen area so it feels like it might get quite cosy at peak breakfast times.
(2) There are no tea making facilities in the room – make sure you ask for a kettle from reception at the start of your stay.
(3) The maps they hand out at reception aren’t the best as they are colour photocopies – perfectly fine, but best you get your own for clarity.

Really though, those minor points are for your convenience and are not in anyway a criticism of this well run, clean, and perfectly located hotel. I don’t know what the other hotels in Helsinki are like, but this must be number 1 for a very good reason. I think I saw six at least during my stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Fabian Hotel. The staff were excellent in every aspect and deserve to be commended. the room we had was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Would recommend the Fabian to all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights recently as part of a trip to Helsinki and Tallinn. We just loved it! We were in one of the Lux rooms -- this costs a little more, but the room was really wonderful. We asked for something quiet and got room 412 --which is in the very back of the hotel. Very, very quiet!!! The room was quite large with three distinct areas -- bedroom, living room (with sofa and a couple of chairs) and the kitchenette. It was like having a little apartment! Towels were good quality, we had bathrobes, the HVAC system was good and very quiet (an under-rated important feature of a hotel IMHO). Overall, the furnishings were very stylish, the bathroom great, the bed very comfortable. The location is fabulous -- you are right on the edge of a lovely residential area, close to the Observatory and the Embassy district, and it's very quiet. You are a stone's throw away from the lovely walk that goes around the Helsinki coastline (don't miss it!) Kaivopuisto Park and the Eira neighborhood.. Meanwhile, the Esplanade, harbor and the center of the city are just a couple of blocks away. I didn't really expect to use it, but the kitchenette in our room came in *very* handy. The cost of eating out in Helsinki is truly fearsome and we were very glad to be able to "eat in" for a few of the nights we were there. As other reviewers pointed out, there is an "Alko" store (the state liquor outlet) right down the street, where some halfway reasonably priced wines are to be had. There's also a supermarket right down the street which had pretty decent prepared foods available. We basically alternated eating in and eating out for dinner to keep costs down. Also on the food front, the Hotel Fabian breakfasts were wonderful. I am usually not at all a fan of buffet meals of any sort. But this buffet breakfast was outstanding. It is laid out in an open kitchen area and there are staff there busy cutting fresh cheese, fruit, etc and replenishing the breads, eggs, cereals etc all during breakfast. So nothing sits out for long. The quality of the ingredients was really outstanding and there was a huge choice. As others have pointed out, this isn't a full-service hotel -- no restaurant; I don't believe there is any room service; no bar (which I liked from a noise perspective) -- although you can get drinks down in the lobby. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if -- hopefully "when" -- I got back to Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Everything we'd hoped for with this hotel was there, and then some.

The location is ideal, with so many attractions within walking distance. We had planned to buy a Helsinki Pass but walked everywhere we needed instead (and that includes pushing a wheelchair). There's a bottle shop a few doors down the street and a supermarket about one block away.

On arrival, we were pleased to find an access ramp and tickled pink to have the doors open automatically. The lift to our floor was of adequate size, but we were blown away by our room. The space and fittings were perfect and the bathroom was just ideal for disabled guests. Wifi was excellent.

The breakfast room is delightful with a wonderful variety of fresh foods to suit any palette and any shortage is quickly replenished. A wonderful start to each day.

Hotel staff seemed to change quite a bit, but all were attentive, helpful and friendly.

We felt very comfortable and at ease at the Fabian and looked forward to returning there each day. We would not hesitate to stay there again. One of the best we've experienced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We primarily went to Helsinki to watch Justin Timberlake in concert and saw all the recommendations for this hotel on here, so booked it. I must say it did not disappoint, the room was stunning! A huge comfy bed and pillows, wonderful fragrance in the bathroom and a modern classy decor. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was delicious although one day they did run out of eggs and they didn't seem as though they were replenished very quickly. However, the location is very good and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very nice little hotel near Helsinki centre (couple of minutes walk from "Esplanad" park). Excellent breakfast! Clean, stylish room with comfortable bed. Very peaceful place althought in quite central location. Nice staff. No thing to complain (well, we thought that drinks from hotel "bar" were high-priced) :o)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.