We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Bodø
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here. We stayed for 2 nights during a short break in Helsinki and hotel entirely met our expectations. Arrived a little earlier and were offered to keep our bags at the reception while we explore the city. The check in was fast and they brought us kettle in the room with some tea bags when we asked for it. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, but I would also love to have some omlettes and bacon. Our check-out was at 4 a.m. so we asked for some breakfast to go, which hotel gladly provided. We stayed in basic room on the fifth floor right next to the elevator. But it was super quiet, we couldn't hear a thing which was a great surprise. The bed was luxurious and comfortable, sheets are changed every 3 days, but you can place a "laundry day" card on the bed and they will change it as often as you like. We didn't notice complimentary water in the room, but we were fine without it.
The location is in the quiet part of Helsinki, but very close to the city center. There is no sauna, swimming pool or gym, as other reviewers mentioned, so this is not the place for the gym bunnies.

Overall a wonderful hotel we loved and would gladly recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 501 right next to elevator, but it is completely sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    108
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
241
44
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here for more than a week on a recent business trip. I found the rooms superb and very comfortable. Spacious, with high quality fittings. Service was also very good and efficient and everything worked well. The breakfast is fresh and delicious, though there is a lack of cooked items (maybe you can ask for fried/scrambled eggs). The location isn't in the very center of Helsinki, but walk 500 meters and you're right there with many dining options.

My only small criticism is that there is a lack of atmosphere in terms of hotel bar/food options. Also, there was no fitness room which I find strange for such a high-caliber hotel. Overall though, those things are minor - and I find this a first class hotel and a first class price. I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location just a few minutes walk from the centre of Helsinki and plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. Room was comfortably large and contemporary design with a large double bed, desk are and sofa for relaxation. Plenty of wardrobe space and complimentary still water and wifi. Nicely laid out en-suite with a great shower - always a bonus! Breakfast (included in my rate) was a very good continental selection in a comfortable relaxed area just off the reception and bar. Staff were always friendly and helpful. If ordering a taxi do allow 5-10 minutes during busy times though. I'd definitely enjoy staying here again.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the room that backs onto the elevators, but otherwise they all looked much th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fabian Hotel for a week in early September and can highly recommend it. It is in a quiet spot which is within walking distance from the railway station – it took us 20 minutes of easy walking- and a short walk up the hill for a great view of the harbour.
The service was excellent. The staff are welcoming, speak very good English, respond quickly to any request and give good advice. The style room was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed, good amenities and plenty of room for storage with a walk- in closet at the end of the hallway.
The breakfast was wonderful with a large selection of fresh food from the buffet, delicious bread and good coffee. We loved the Finnish to English phrases on the table mats! While there is no restaurant attached to the hotel, there are excellent restaurants within 5-10 minutes’ walk. I can recommend Zucchini for lunch and Juuri , Havis and Fabian restaurants for dinner. There is also a supermarket and a Delish Deli close by for take away food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have visited a few hotels during the last years but this tops them all. Super nice staff, excellent room that easily accommodated two adults and two kids (one on sofa, another on extra bed, 7 and 8 years). A good lobby bar and excellent, cosy breakfast. Centrally located, will use this to all my overnight trips to Helsinki in the future -- if there are any rooms left, this was so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My first visit to the Hotel Fabian and it is a boutique hotel located in a quiet street, still within a short walk to the centre of Helsinki. The room I had was not only very large but very well appointed and to be honest one of the better rooms I have stayed in over the last couple of years. The staff was always on hand and helpful and the Breakfast whilst the Scandic norm was fresh and replenished regularly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in october with our doughter. Staff was excellent and they were professional and very helpfull. Rooms are very nice and big. Breakfast was perfect!! I would recommend this hotel highly. Close to harbour and to the market place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.