We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location just a few minutes walk from the centre of Helsinki and plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. Room was comfortably large and contemporary design with a large double bed, desk are and sofa for relaxation. Plenty of wardrobe space and complimentary still water and wifi. Nicely laid out en-suite with a great shower - always a bonus! Breakfast (included in my rate) was a very good continental selection in a comfortable relaxed area just off the reception and bar. Staff were always friendly and helpful. If ordering a taxi do allow 5-10 minutes during busy times though. I'd definitely enjoy staying here again.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the room that backs onto the elevators, but otherwise they all looked much th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    110
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
83
245
46
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fabian Hotel for a week in early September and can highly recommend it. It is in a quiet spot which is within walking distance from the railway station – it took us 20 minutes of easy walking- and a short walk up the hill for a great view of the harbour.
The service was excellent. The staff are welcoming, speak very good English, respond quickly to any request and give good advice. The style room was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed, good amenities and plenty of room for storage with a walk- in closet at the end of the hallway.
The breakfast was wonderful with a large selection of fresh food from the buffet, delicious bread and good coffee. We loved the Finnish to English phrases on the table mats! While there is no restaurant attached to the hotel, there are excellent restaurants within 5-10 minutes’ walk. I can recommend Zucchini for lunch and Juuri , Havis and Fabian restaurants for dinner. There is also a supermarket and a Delish Deli close by for take away food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have visited a few hotels during the last years but this tops them all. Super nice staff, excellent room that easily accommodated two adults and two kids (one on sofa, another on extra bed, 7 and 8 years). A good lobby bar and excellent, cosy breakfast. Centrally located, will use this to all my overnight trips to Helsinki in the future -- if there are any rooms left, this was so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My first visit to the Hotel Fabian and it is a boutique hotel located in a quiet street, still within a short walk to the centre of Helsinki. The room I had was not only very large but very well appointed and to be honest one of the better rooms I have stayed in over the last couple of years. The staff was always on hand and helpful and the Breakfast whilst the Scandic norm was fresh and replenished regularly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in october with our doughter. Staff was excellent and they were professional and very helpfull. Rooms are very nice and big. Breakfast was perfect!! I would recommend this hotel highly. Close to harbour and to the market place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is really comfortable and the rooms are really comfortable with an excellent size and immaculate clean. From the hotel to the down town there is only a few minute walk to get to the commercial area full of shops and restaurants. Also the docks are two blocks away from the hotel main entrance. There you can find some very good fish restaurants and during the weeks ends there is a small market with home made food, (herrings, jams, bread) fresh vegetables and cooked salmon. Also you can find some hand crafted things as well.
The breakfast buffet is really good with a variety of fresh food and a very attentive staff ready to help you.with a smile.
The only cons if any, was the background noise of the air cond system in the room. We were at room number 501 and the air conditioning noise was very noticeable even when it was turned off, it was a bit annoying specially if you want to sleep after a tiring day walking around Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFabian, Manager at Fabian Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Pmoreno,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Fabian. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I do apologise for the noisy air conditioning in your room. Usually our hotel is very quiet and we are proud to say that we can offer a good night's sleep to our guests. I am sorry this was not the case with your room. I would also like to thank you for bringing this to our knowledge as now we can fix the problem. Our maintenance has already been informed and they are fixing the problem as we speak.
Once again, thank you for taking your time to write your feedback. Hopefully you will stay at Hotel Fabian also next time you are in Helsinki.

Best Regards,

Elli Suutarinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A lovely hotel near the centre. Nice design, big and nicely decorated rooms, very nice and friendly staff.Breakfast was very good. We were really pleased with the stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.