We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Super Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Super Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Fabian is a great boutique hotel, well situated in Helsinki. The staff here were super friendly and did a great job of recommending restaurants, and making reservations, and helping us find where to rent bikes and buy ferry tickets. It's a beautiful place and a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    105
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
224
43
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taree, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were recently in Helsinki with friends and stayed at the Fabian for 5 nights in Lux rooms.
This is truly one of the best boutique hotels we have ever experienced.
The lux rooms are ideal for the longer stays, being larger rooms with a small kitchenette area.
Everything about this property is first class. Location, staff, quality of all facilities and fittings.
The only slight shortcoming is that, while breakfast is included, they do not have a restaurant for other meals. However there are a number of restaurants close by.
Staff will assist with an early breakfast if you have an early excursion planned, all with absolutely no hassle.
Perhaps one of the best value meals in Helsinki is at the harbour area ( a five minute walk from the hotel) where you can try the fresh cooked local salmon, with vegetables, at the market stalls.
Absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Lux rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I can't stop singing praises for this property. At the time when I book the hotel, all feedback were either excellent and good, how wrong can it be? True enough, all you read here are reliable and accurate. Why?

Pricing - Amazingly affordable to book directly to the hotel via their website. I was there during the peak of summer, yet, the price paid were much lower than any other property in the city.

Location - It is not that far walk from the city center. While there are other property situated in the MIDDLE of the city, for the price you paid for Fabian Hotel just to compromise with an extra 5 mins walk, it is really worth it.

Rooms - What you see in those lovely pictures is real when you get there! Very comfortable room. While each room may differ slightly in terms of size, but rest assured, all are comfy. Bed is extremely comfortable. All the white paint remain white despite being operating in their 3rd year. Toilet is tip top clean!

Deco - It's a WOW! If you are an art deco person who someone looking for boutique hotel, this will certain be THE one.

Breakfast - While it is true that breakfast starts at 7am, there are occassion when the management will bring it forward to earlier timing should there be request. We were served breakfast from 6am onwards as there were few request to do so for that morning.

Staff - Very pleasant. Information given were accurate. The staff even helped to book us a vehicle to airport which is so much comfortable and cheaper than those cab we flagged. Definitely saved us some Euro on this! Thank you!

Overall - A lovely hotel. Tastefully decorated. Reasonable walking distance to the city center. I will certainly come back again if I get a chance to visit Helsinki.

Btw, I stayed at room 410, it is a NICE room!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good but I love room 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a wonderfully designed, pleasantly located hotel where the service is impeccable. A very comfy bed, great shower, ok breakfast and reasonably priced compared to its counterparts. I wholeheartedly recommend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night on a whirlwind tour of the Baltics. This hotel was a great place to recharge in the middle of a packed schedule. The room was elegant and also deliciously comfortable. The shower was divine. What really stood out, though, was the service. When I arrived at an ungodly hour, the front desk person could not have been more receptive. Tge next day I misplaced my cell phone and had a moment of panic, but the receptionists went way above and beyond the call of duty to help me find my phone. They never lost patience even though they were clearly quite busy. This little boutique hotel is classy, all the way around.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to ensure we had a good time, clean and well sized modern rooms (I was impressed with the design being very practical with lots of outlets and shelving while still being spacious, comfortable beds, good location. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone or come back myself. We noticed the hotel did not have gym facilities but the hotel arranged for us to use their sister hotel's facilities free of charge only a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nicely designed, lovely rooms, excellent staff and very friendly. No gym, swimming pool or restaurant but it is a boutique hotel so these things aren't expected. The staff made excellent recommendations for restaurants nearby, such as Pastis, just around the corner. Breakfast was good with excellent granola and fresh fruit. I'd go again next time in Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.