We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is truly delightful - the décor is tasteful and stylish. The staff are very friendly and helpful - genuinely so. The breakfasts are delicious - I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a city break. Our twin room was also very plush and throughout the hotel is immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    101
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
196
43
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've always found that it's not the problem, but how it is solved that is the sign of a good establishment, and Fabian is a good establishment.

My first room was without a desk, and they switched without quibble, and when the tv froze, (Samsung - great picture, poor software :-)) they were up within seconds to check and fix.

Putting aside problems, the rooms were well equipped, hotel was quiet, and breakfast buffet had a large number of options.

Location was good. Perfect location to downtown Helsinki, and its many restaurants.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw looked pretty much the same. Both well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although many hotels tout themselves as boutique hotels, most think that they are so by virtue of their size or not offering full services. My belief is that a boutique hotel will be smaller, but offer a higher level of personalization, design, and service. You may not have a pool or certain amenities of a larger hotel, but it's more than compensated by the warm and personalized experience.

The Fabian certainly fills that bill & has become my ideal for a boutique hotel. The hotel is quite small, but very well designed. The rooms are actually quite large (especially for Europe) and filled with many nice touches. Service is exemplary, staff was uniformly helpful and considerate, without being intrusive. Breakfast was very filling, with a nice variety of local specialties and fishy baked goodies. It can get a little crowded in the dining area, but staff helped out to make it all work.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Right in the city center (market square). Tastefully decorated, beautiful modern rooms. Breakfast does not have rich selections, but food was fresh, actually it was the best hotel breakfast that I had during my 2 weeks stay in nordic countries. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Internet is free and you can connect all your devices at the same time with a password.There was a smell from sewage.No slippers in the room.Breakfast is not rich.It is not in center,you have to walk about 10 minutes to shopping center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFabian, Manager at Fabian Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Cojusna,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hotel Fabian. We highly value our guests' opinion as it helps us to improve our service.
Concerning the sewage smell in your room, please accept my sincerest apologies for this very unpleasant event, which is now fixed.
I am sorry to hear you did not find our breakfast satisfying. We have gathered the breakfast using fresh, healthy and mostly organic high quality products.
Your comments are very important to us to keep up and to improve our service. I will be very happy to welcome you back to Hotel Fabian or to assist you with possible future bookings.
Best Regards,
Elli Suutarinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We actually stayed a month in the hotel as we have just moved to Helsinki. We had a courtyard room, and when we arrived in middle of March it was -22 degrees and snow everywhere... did not make a difference to the hotel, everywhere was cosy, warm and it was delight to enjoy breakfast every morning. The staff are friendly, the hotel is immaculate and the rooms very stylish. You just feel like a Home away from Home feeling. A 5 minute walk you are in the city but it was always nice to come back to Hotel Fabian every evening...will miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room if you can afford it as they are bigger and you get a living and dining are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely little hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Almost as nice as Hotel Haven! We stayed in the style room on the 6th floor. Good large bed and comfortable room. Breakfast was really nice, everything was good and put up nicely. Staff was friendly too! We will come here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.