We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idea for Christmas shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fabian Hotel to your Saves list
Fabian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Idea for Christmas shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here for weekend shopping trip. Annual Ladies market is great for unusual gifts, the hotel is very close to the center or the city, but far enough away not to hear any noise of an evening. Hotel is 10 mins walk from bus station which has a service to the airport every 20 mins for €6. Very friendly reception staff, lovely room, only comment is if you are on 6th floor, mind your head on the sloping ceiling in the corner (ouch). Breakfast is good with usual continental breads, meats, fruits etc. All of the fittings in the room are to usual Finnish high quality. Good speed free WiFi is available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    122
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
254
47
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Fabian Hotel is a very nice boutique style hotel in Helsinki. It is located about a 10 minute walk away from the central station but still in a very central area close to shopping and good restaurants.

I arrived in the evening and check-in was very quick. Friendly staff quickly made sure I was given my room. I had the room booked by my company so had the standard room (if I had booked myself I might have selected a larger room) but I was surprised that it was still a fairly big room. I like the decor in the room and most things appeared to be done with some thought behind it.

A lot of things were very good; the mini-bar was good (not too expensive either), quick and free Wi-Fi, nice TV with a lot of free channels and very good iron and ironing board (many hotels put low quality irons in the room). The bathroom was also very big and the products provided were of high quality (and the floor heating was very nice as well as the speakers in the bathroom). I also must say that the bed was among the most comfortable I slept in. There is also a safe in the room and the desk was decent (a bit difficult to work at since it was very narrow).

There were however a few things that prevents me for giving it a top rating. I was missing a water kettle and tea and coffee in the room. I know that many hotels than just say that it is possible to walk down and ask for it at the front desk but that is still not as good as having it in the room. The hotel also lacks a fitness center which is a real drawback and it may actually result in me selecting another hotel next time in Helsinki. I am not a fan of shower curtains but there should have been something (perhaps sliding glass doors or something like it) to prevent water from spreading in the rest of the bathroom.

The breakfast was in some ways very good - it did have very fresh products and generally high quality (finally a hotel with some proper apple and orange juice). The draw back of the breakfast was the lack of hot food. There is porridge but no fried or scrambled eggs and bacon. For me it is just not a proper breakfast without that and the minimum level for a hotel breakfast is to at least offer scrambled eggs with bacon and some sausages.

I would however still recommend Fabian Hotel due to the good location, very nice rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very comfortable and quiet hotel some few steps from the crowded central streets of Helsinki and still accessible by foot from the station, ferry terminals etc. Well decorated spacious rooms, huge beds with high quality linen, good bathroom equipment especially the shower - as loose as we like. At the same time surprisingly small wardrobe - only one narrow section by the room entrance where you have to place both your overcoat (that ocasionally can be wet in Helsinki due to the climate) and your shirts and ties. Still our general impression was great and we'll definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Standard room is good enough for comfortable stay of the couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tour-de-Peilz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel Fabian with my wife for a night in Helsinki. We chooses this hotel because of the positive comments we read on this forum. I can confirm that all what has been said is true and accurate: nice and comfortable rooms, with a large bed and excellent mattress, nice and clean bathroom, friendly staff, excellent location in the center of Helsinki.
The hotel does not have any restaurant but offer breakfast of good quality (included in the price) and has a bar, so you can have tea, cappuccino or whisky whenever you want it.
A very good choice at reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed 3 nights for business trip and location was great for access to the centre and train station. Room was very clean and modern, loads of space. Appreciated free Wifi too. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast choice was great. Only one major problem and that is the heating system. The control constantly defaults to 21 degrees and it was very cold on a couple of the nights we spent there, radiators remain tepid at best. I was given a tiny radiator to help and a kettle to make a hot drink. Hope they sort this out before the real winter sets in! Good restaurants nearby so lack of one onsite is not major problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Whenever I book a hotel that's scored a number on spot on TripAdvisor, I know it's going to be great. But this was especially so. Great central location, perfect service, beautiful rooms, every amenity you need, luxurious but not overbearing, great breakfast to start the day etc. Book one of the bigger rooms on the sixth floor - 604, 605 or 606 are the best. If / when I head back to Helsinki, I'll be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This cozy little hotel is one of the best boutique hotels we have stayed at. It can boast of a great location, close to the action but far enough away to be quiet. Great service. Four of us stayed there in July 2011, and if we ever go to Helsinki again, that hotel is where we'll be staying at.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.