We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel for Getting Around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Hakaniemi to your Saves list
Cumulus Hakaniemi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel for Getting Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It is a ‘standard’ type of hotel I would say, so it is ok for business and city trip. The location is pretty good, walk to main square takes about 15 minutes, which we did comfortably (I was on a business trip, but wife and baby came for a few days sightseeing). There is bus/tram/metro stops right in front of the hotel which puts you in touch with most parts of the city if you don’t fancy walking, although it is not that big a city to have to worry to much.
We have in the past had breakfasts at this type of hotel, and they are a bit basic, but it depends on what you want, so we opted to go to local cafes and markets (as I don’t go on holiday to sit in the hotel). The staff where very helpful, particularly as it was our first time abroad with our baby. The wifi seemed to work quite well, which is always useful.
From my understanding, Helsinki can be quite expensive, so although I would not regards this as cheap, I think comparatively you get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PeterC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

In a central location, easily reached by bus from the airport and a short (15 minute) stroll from the city centre. Room was clean and modern. Just a shower (no bath) in en suite, and breakfast is OK. Would certainly stay again. It is a nice hotel, clean, efficiently run but no frills.

Room Tip: Rear of building (where I was) is apparently quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is rather well located not so far away from centrum of Helsinki. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine, but you should ask for a room not facing the street as the tram is rather noisy.
The breakfast was not so good. No variation of fruit, only orange and apples, and the warm buffet was only small sausage, meatballs and tasteless stirred eggs. But for a short stay, 1-2 nights, is is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay here in 2012 October. Small but stylish rooms, clean and comfortable. Got onto WiFi eventually. Breakfast fine but limited reception area. Easy from airport and bus stops right outside. Not far to walk to local attractions, though it has to be said that Helsinki is pretty grey in winter.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Spent here for about two weeks. The room was on the smaller side however, the bed was excellent. Bathroom was very clean and well lit (something I noticed other hotel lack). Breakfast was very nice especially of you grab a table by the windows overlooking the square in front of the hotel (it was a really nice pick me up in the morning). The hotel is positioned 10 meters away from a metro entrance so you can get anywhere very quickly. Overall my stay was okay but nothing really exquisite or special about the hotel.

Room Tip: Try booking a room overlooking the square in front and not the rather grey backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amota I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed one night on mayday with my boyfriend in Cumulus Hakaniemi. We chose the hotel for the cheap prize and breakfast included. We loved!
Room was average and small, we had twin beds but used only the another. Clean facilities, and really nice views from windows! There was no minibar or fridge in the room, a small minus for that. Best part of the stay was absolutely having breakfast at second floor and look outside what happens on the streets. Breakfast room was really quiet, there were only like ten people with us and there were space for at least 50 more. Food was average but joyful with the peaceful atmosphere and the view :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellan1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Spend one night during business trip, and was happy to get clean and nice room to sleep. There was free wifi, but I didn't use it. No minibar, but I didn't miss it.

With really small public areas hotel felt small.

Breakfast was good, but crowdy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maksim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#41 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#27 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing