We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Save Saved
You added Cumulus Hakaniemi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cumulus Hakaniemi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Milano
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

To visit Helsinki is in a great position, near bus, metro, airport bus. Nice hotel, clean and confortable. Good breakfast, goos staff. I was there with my wife and our son. We asked for a 3rd bed and they gave us a very good solution. I know where to sleep next time I'll be there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
33
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a superior room which was large enough, clean (exept the work chair cover), silent and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was basic and there seemed to be too few staff. "Serviettes" that were available were basic toilet handpapers which were cut in the middle.The young blonde girl at the reception didn´t make us feel very welcome. She was arrogant. For example she didn´t know what the travel bed is or didn´t bother at first to check if our room is available bit earlier (we had called to the hotel in advance about these things).Playroom was very poor and small. Location of the hotel is good, near Linnanmäki and the ferry that goes to Korkeasaari. Hakaniemi market is nice in the summertime and also the indoor market nearby is nice.

Room Tip: Superior/family rooms are ok. Rooms that face inner court are probably more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Started our trip from this hotel and decided to get back to it at the end of the trip. The hotel is amazingly clean, well positioned with comfortable rooms, especially the superior rooms which are absolutely great, and the staff very responsive. The only downsides were the mediocre breakfast and the fact that we were not able to control the room temperature to our satisfaction.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel during the Flow festival 2013, because the hotel is very conveniently located - there is a short walk to the city centre and short walk to the festival area. However, I wouldn't recommend the hotel, because in my opinion, the balance between their prices and quality is off. First thing that surprised me was that I was expected to pay extra for wireless internet. It didn't cost much, but the password they gave was only valid for 24 hours that is kind of inconvenient when you're staying for several days. Also, as it is not a budget hotel, charging extra for wifi seemed sort of petty. The other thing was breakfast - there were signs in the elevators that told the customers to arrive at the breakfast 'as early as possible' because 'the hotel is fully booked'. So, the staff expects their customers to wake up earlier than they have planned, because they are not able to organize their work at the breakfast hall? When I got there (more than an hour before the end of breakfast), I saw that they are really not able to organize. Tables and chairs were dirty, half of the dishes were empty, there were no cups for coffee etc. And they served the most watered down apple juice I've ever seen in my life. I'm surprised that they had a nerve ta call it 'juice', because at most, it was a slightly flavoured water (orange juice dispenser was broken). The hotel room itself was OK, however, it was oddly chilly even when the heating system claimed that there should have been 21 degrees in a room. In short - for such money, there are much better hotels in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights, arrived late and needed a good nights sleep. About 4am every night I woke up because
A truck driver was removing the iron bars from the tram which is currently being redone. It took him about 90 minutes to upload all the rails. Unfortunately I had a taxi picking me up at 630. So you can imagine how happy i was. I complained to the receptionist about it and all I got was a shrug as apparently no one else was bothered about that noise. Hard to imagine.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Big rooms, no services, average breakfast, expensive allergy rooms, noisy rooms. Not very nice experiense. Stayed here for 10 nights. If you don't need to stay in Hakaniemi i would recommend some other hotel in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Better view but more noise in street side of building. No regular allergy rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Want quality for your money? Want an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price? Want a very clean, comfortable, and secure place to stay? Come to Cumulus! Our double room was spacious, with all the amenities one looks for in a standard hotel, and extras available down in the lobby if desired. Nothing fancy, but everything one needs on a business or tourist visit to one of the most interesting cities in Europe. The tram line stops right in front of the hotel, there's a market just across the street. What could be more convenient? Friendly and efficient staff, WiFi included, nothing to worry about here. Gets an A+ from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Hakaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.