We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value clean, very poor breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Hakaniemi to your Saves list
Cumulus Hakaniemi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value clean, very poor breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Started our trip from this hotel and decided to get back to it at the end of the trip. The hotel is amazingly clean, well positioned with comfortable rooms, especially the superior rooms which are absolutely great, and the staff very responsive. The only downsides were the mediocre breakfast and the fact that we were not able to control the room temperature to our satisfaction.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    44
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
50
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyväskylä
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during the Flow festival 2013, because the hotel is very conveniently located - there is a short walk to the city centre and short walk to the festival area. However, I wouldn't recommend the hotel, because in my opinion, the balance between their prices and quality is off. First thing that surprised me was that I was expected to pay extra for wireless internet. It didn't cost much, but the password they gave was only valid for 24 hours that is kind of inconvenient when you're staying for several days. Also, as it is not a budget hotel, charging extra for wifi seemed sort of petty. The other thing was breakfast - there were signs in the elevators that told the customers to arrive at the breakfast 'as early as possible' because 'the hotel is fully booked'. So, the staff expects their customers to wake up earlier than they have planned, because they are not able to organize their work at the breakfast hall? When I got there (more than an hour before the end of breakfast), I saw that they are really not able to organize. Tables and chairs were dirty, half of the dishes were empty, there were no cups for coffee etc. And they served the most watered down apple juice I've ever seen in my life. I'm surprised that they had a nerve ta call it 'juice', because at most, it was a slightly flavoured water (orange juice dispenser was broken). The hotel room itself was OK, however, it was oddly chilly even when the heating system claimed that there should have been 21 degrees in a room. In short - for such money, there are much better hotels in Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights, arrived late and needed a good nights sleep. About 4am every night I woke up because
A truck driver was removing the iron bars from the tram which is currently being redone. It took him about 90 minutes to upload all the rails. Unfortunately I had a taxi picking me up at 630. So you can imagine how happy i was. I complained to the receptionist about it and all I got was a shrug as apparently no one else was bothered about that noise. Hard to imagine.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Big rooms, no services, average breakfast, expensive allergy rooms, noisy rooms. Not very nice experiense. Stayed here for 10 nights. If you don't need to stay in Hakaniemi i would recommend some other hotel in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Better view but more noise in street side of building. No regular allergy rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Want quality for your money? Want an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price? Want a very clean, comfortable, and secure place to stay? Come to Cumulus! Our double room was spacious, with all the amenities one looks for in a standard hotel, and extras available down in the lobby if desired. Nothing fancy, but everything one needs on a business or tourist visit to one of the most interesting cities in Europe. The tram line stops right in front of the hotel, there's a market just across the street. What could be more convenient? Friendly and efficient staff, WiFi included, nothing to worry about here. Gets an A+ from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good clean hotel with very nice breakfast. The hotel is located in hakaniemi. There is marketplace right next to the hotel, atm, street train and metro stops. The hotel is two metro stops away from the city centre, its not too far away to walk either.

I liked most of the breakfast, as it was fresh and there was plenty to choose from. Im also a vegeterian so I could find something to eat aswell.

The hotel's decor is done with very bright colours, which I was not so fond of. But all the textures were fresh and new. The hotel smelled even new and fresh.

Only thing that could have improved was service, usually when I walked inside the hotel the staff just seemed to talk to their cell phones and not even say "hello". Maybe this is just style in Helsinki. However I found it very odd.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempele, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I tried this pretty new hotel on my last business trip. Hotel is clean and location is ok, with trams and buses going right from the front of hotel. It's only about 15 min walk from the railway station...
Hotel does not provide too much but is ok for business travelling. Breakfastroom is so small that hotel recommends you to have your breakfast early in the morning to find a seat!
I got interested in to see how this hotel is. Now I've seen it and propably will not stay there again....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Hakaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.