We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel in the middle of Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Save Saved
You added Cumulus Hakaniemi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumulus Hakaniemi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 hotels in Helsinki
Altamont, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel in the middle of Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Want quality for your money? Want an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price? Want a very clean, comfortable, and secure place to stay? Come to Cumulus! Our double room was spacious, with all the amenities one looks for in a standard hotel, and extras available down in the lobby if desired. Nothing fancy, but everything one needs on a business or tourist visit to one of the most interesting cities in Europe. The tram line stops right in front of the hotel, there's a market just across the street. What could be more convenient? Friendly and efficient staff, WiFi included, nothing to worry about here. Gets an A+ from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
34
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good clean hotel with very nice breakfast. The hotel is located in hakaniemi. There is marketplace right next to the hotel, atm, street train and metro stops. The hotel is two metro stops away from the city centre, its not too far away to walk either.

I liked most of the breakfast, as it was fresh and there was plenty to choose from. Im also a vegeterian so I could find something to eat aswell.

The hotel's decor is done with very bright colours, which I was not so fond of. But all the textures were fresh and new. The hotel smelled even new and fresh.

Only thing that could have improved was service, usually when I walked inside the hotel the staff just seemed to talk to their cell phones and not even say "hello". Maybe this is just style in Helsinki. However I found it very odd.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempele, Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I tried this pretty new hotel on my last business trip. Hotel is clean and location is ok, with trams and buses going right from the front of hotel. It's only about 15 min walk from the railway station...
Hotel does not provide too much but is ok for business travelling. Breakfastroom is so small that hotel recommends you to have your breakfast early in the morning to find a seat!
I got interested in to see how this hotel is. Now I've seen it and propably will not stay there again....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently renovated hotel close to the city center. And the metro, tram and bus stops couldn't be closer. All kinds of shops, department stores, restaurants, pubs, clubs, etc. in the vicinity. 10 minutes walk to the theatre we went to see a play at.

Clean and spacious room. We were facing the inner yard: no view but also no noise from the busy street and market place. If you prefer the view, it's a sea view over the market place.

Proper breakfast with enough choices. The breakfast room was rather crowded as the hotel was full but we were able to find a table, and everything at the counters was refilled constantly.

Saunas (separate for men and women) were nice and good, included in the price.

Service at the reception was a bit slow when we arrived. But the receptionist who served us an hour after we had checked out was nice and friendly when we asked to go back to the room to get something we had forgotten.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

for the price you pay for a room in pricey Helsinki, Cumulus Hakaniemi is pretty hard to beat in terms of value and convenience!

located a few steps away from Hakaniemi subway station, and several bus lines, you're no more than a hop and jump away from the city's main sights. if you wish to walk to Senate Square, it's only a mere 15 mins downhill, and 20 mins uphill. some fastfood options nearby if you're feeling hungry at night, or a huge supermarket just a few steps away as well.

free internet terminal (just 1 only unfortunately) at the lobby area.

decent breakfast spread, though it was pretty crowded at 9am on a saturday, and quite hard to get a seat, so if you're there on a weekend, might be wise to have an earlier breakfast!

rooms are cookie-cutter standard but functional. very clean.

the heated bathroom floors were a huge plus!!! kept the bathroom warm and for the first time on that trip after having stayed in many different hotels around northern europe, i didn't remember shivering and teeth chattering when i came out of the shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for one night and was overall satisfied. Reception was fine, checking in & out worked smooth and breakfast was good. The hotel has everything you need but you have to go down to the lobby to get a ironboard and iron.

Was staying up late and working in my room, missed a fridge with drinks and some snacks. But this is available in vending machines in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at C.H. on the 15th of February.
Positive features: great location about 15 min. walking from the very City center (2 min by metro) though it is very quiet. Clean room and shower. Tidy restaurant in the 1st floor with panoramic windows. Very good breakfast, attentive service.
Standard room description at Booking.com matches Ok, however be ready that there no bathrobe/slippers in the room, no minibar, and sauna works only in the evenings until 10:00 local time, so if you arrive late and leave next day at normal time - you miss it. Free cable Internet connection was useless for me as i had only tablet with WiFi that is a paid service.
All in all - a clean hotel with good service, but do not expect too much of a standard room - it is basic.

Room Tip: Check higher room categories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Hakaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.