We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy weekender hotel with great connections” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cumulus Hakaniemi to your Saves list
Cumulus Hakaniemi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Cambrdgeshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Easy weekender hotel with great connections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stsyed for a few nights and proved to be good value. Clean and well kept with helpful staff although, at time of booking additional few nights for my wife, insisted they would not match the trivago price which wad considerably less than booking direct. Breakfast was ok but probably lacked some of the variety we were used to, that said you do get value for the price. Will use again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    78
    39
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
42
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaarina, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visit this hotel twice a year on business trips. I cannot think of anything to complain.
Good location, easy to get to by Metro, tram and bus, quiet so you get a good sleep.
Breakfast OK and lots of newspapers to read at breakfast. I have only haf breakfast here.. Service polite and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during last summer (2012). Hotel is in a nice neighborhood, a little bit outside of downtown (20 minutes walking distance), with a lovely lake just 100 yards from the entrance. There is a subway station just across the street and the airport bus also stops just in front the hotel.
Room was clean and well decorated but a little bit smaller than we are used to (nothing that a small furniture position change would not solve). The main entrance is a little bit strange, doesn't seems to fit with a 3,5 stars hotel (they even sell hot-dogs in the reception desk), not a problem if you plan to use the hotel to sleep and to take your breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast it was only ok, not the best that we had during our trip but also not the worst. Main problem was that the hotel was completely booked and breakfast room was a little bit too small for such and audience....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed there only one night and everything went very well. The person at the reception was very nice and I felt welcome. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good but without organic food.

I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I choose this hotel based on Trip adv very good reports and I can confirm them. Hotel is very good located, nearby all major attractions. You may visit them walking. Also breakfast was very good quality. If you go there visit also sauna facility, worth it.
Helsinki is a one day visit if you are there. There aren't major attractions like in other towns.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have used this hotel on my business trips. It is very clean, the rooms are good, the breakfast is good but there in no possibiliy for dinner. The room prices are also quit high. But the location is excellent, the walking time from railway station is about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed at a lot of European hotels and yowsers was my room ever small. It fit me just fine but I would have had to have been awfully good friends to share a room!

Check in was simple and was in my room in minutes. Best way to get here is via the Airport bus (615) and it drops you off right in front of the hotel. Bonus! Breakfast was ok and had bread, preserves, meats and cheese along with coffee, tea and juice. The location is about a 20 minute walk from downtown and is right by tram/bus service so getting around is never a problem. My room was small but fairly modern and clean. Functional but you wouldn't want to be spending any serious time in there. Free internet - YAY.

Not sure I would necessarily stay here again but for what I needed, it served its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Hakaniemi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.