We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple... perhaps too simple...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“simple... perhaps too simple...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is located in the city center in a great spot in the city.
However taking into account the price per night and the service provided this is not the best choice in town...
Breakfast is small and some products are from the previous day ... if you combine that to the fact that the breakfast is until 930 it does provide a good experience.
The rooms are tiny and clean, good internet connection and the bed is ok ... but not something were you would like to spend more then a couple of days

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
16
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Walsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

stayed 5 nights beginning of may,excellent breakfast,and friendly staff,both in roberts coffee and iguana rest,within easy commute from airport and station.room very clean and just right size for two of us,surprisingly quiet at the front.would stay again and recommend to others.felt at home here,and in a way was sorry to leave.

MR S R Green
England

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosseto, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It is placed next to the railway station, so it's easy to reach from the airport too. The rooms are not so large but very pretty, especially the bathroom. Nice the ground floor where the reception, the bar (with some spanish feature) and the restaurant (good breakfast) are all together in a unique space. It give it a young-looking aspect. There is silent during the night, even if you have the room in front of the road. Only problem: there is no elevator but the stairways are short. Good service. Ideal for a starting point to visit Helsinki.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel as it is very near to the shopping mall, the station and places of interest. We arrived in Helsinki by overnight ferry, so were very pleased to be able to check in early. The reception area is at the back of a cafe which feels a bit odd, however, we had a warm welcome and were found a room immediately. The room was up some quite awkward stairs so were very pleased to have help with our luggage. The room was interesting, it had no windows, a large double bed and plenty of space. The shower room was beautifully fitted out. All very clean and coffee and tea making facilities out on the comfortable landing, Altogether an enjoyable experience. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we left very early to catch a train.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I spent two nights at the Hotel Carlton. It is very centrally located in Helsinki right by the train station. I had a single room. The single bed was very low and the mattress wasn't the most comfortable but it was alright. The tv was not working but the hotel sent up someone to fix it. The room was small but for one person. The hotel is directly across the street from a night club so it got to be a bit loud during the night. Also, the room got fairly hot during the summer so I had to keep the windows open which just let in the sound from the club. The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again.

Please be aware that there is no elevator.

It is located on top of a Mexican restaurant and cafe so there is food easily available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Kaisaniemenkatu street. Ask for a room close to the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Overall opinion is very good. Room and bathroom facilities satisfactory free wifi works very well, restaurant and café good quality, staff and service to a very high standard who really make you feel welcome. On the door step to Helsinki centre for all city centre activities and team links. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have just spent two nights in this hotel. Friendly reception, great location. Advertising states all rooms are different. Well,mine was just like any hotel room. No extras and no surprises. Their website states 'selection of toiletries in each room'. The usual hair and body shampoo hardly is a selection. There were not even tissues as in most hotels. Bathroom in the double room tiny, shower curtain too short so water all over. It is a good place though. Breakfast fine and surroundings in the morning rather quiet. I would stay again but their advertising promises more of the rooms. Maybe mine was bog standard as I paid mostly with my airline points. I am also used to sleeping in cool rooms but there was no proper air conditioning. The windows did open but as the street is busy, only one of the nights was quiet enough to keep it open. Overall however, I had a good experience. Very handy having the restaurant downstairs and location brilliant. The room was not cleaned on the first morning. Oversight of the norm?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and our cozy restaurant, Iguana. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.