We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for cityexploring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect base for cityexploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in a single room for 4 nights during our trip to Helsinki in July/August. Location is very central; tramstation and metrostation in front of the door, train and bus (and more tram) stations within 10 minutes walk. Also near multiple restaurants and shoppingarea located. Also multiple sightseeing locations (like Senate Square) are in walking distance.
The room was big enough for a singel person, with the usual desk, tv and nice bathroom. Bed was a big single bed, not to hard or to soft, just perfect. Free coffee and tea facillities central located on the floor. Free wifi in the room was good. The rooms are located on the second floor but there is no elevator. But upon, very sufficient and friendly, checkin we were immediatly asked if we need assistance with our bags.
The complimentary breakfast (with several hot items) was sufficient. There is also a coffee-bar and bar/(mexican)restaurant on site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Richard-Roadman,

Thank you for your very informative review. You more or less summarized everything that we are all about: the central location, practicality and friendly service :). When Helsinki is calling again, be our guest!

Best Regards,

Laura Salokangas
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
23
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best Western Carlton Helsinki is located in the middle of buzzing the restaurant quarters of the city. A good choice for travelers who won't spend time at the hotel but want to explore the city. In walking distance from museums, restaurants, main shopping streets and theaters. Small and compact, nothing missing, nothing extra. The room (facing the backyard, no view whatsoever) was amazingly quiet considering that the address is by one of the busiest streets of the city.

Room Tip: I would choose on facing the backyard as Kaisaniemi street is very busy with bus and tram traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found that this was very convenient to transporation, however no elevator which is not unusual in a smaller European hotel. There was no AC in the room but with the fan and cool nights that was not a problem. Breakfast was typical European style in the restaurant downstairs. Overall if we travel to Helsinki in the future, we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for 4 nights this june. the location is really central. close to everything eg train stations, trams, waterfront. The desk is open 24 hours so we checked in at 12am and had no problem. the service is really good at the front desk. they were helpful and friendly. the complimentary breakfast is served at the restaurant downstairs and has a good variety of cold and hot breakfasts. the only downfall is that the rooms are small, but thats how the finns live and it is a little noisy with the tram lines outside, but didnt bother me as we were drinking most nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its central location. All rooms were in 2.nd floor and there is no elevator (the receptionist kindly carried my heavy luggage up, but not before I asked for it). The 3 receptionists I met did not speak Finnish, which was no problem to me, but rather weird anyway, that the hotel staff doesn't speak the language of the country... The room was quite small, hot and heavy air, and the traffic running right under the window so you can't keep the window open for cooling. The toilet was not practical and smelled. Breakfast was poor compared to normal Finnish standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergem, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel itself is rather basic, and single room I booked was tiny but comfortable. The fact that the rooms are situated on the upper floor of a bar gives the place some charactor, and does not really give any noise problems. For sensitive sleepers the rooms facing onto the main road can be a little noisy however, but personally I did not find this much of a problem.

Staff are quite helpful, and even looked after my coat after I left it in the bar!! The main positive point is that the place is really close to the main train station, and the but stop to the airport (Finnair express service). Print out a location guide however as it is not 100% obvious how to find the place as the road signs in the area are not so good!

Mexican restaurant below offers a good option if you don't have time/energy to explore further.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road suffer from some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved the hotel very much as it's in core of Helsinki. Small city hotel with proffessinal Staff with excellent customer service skills. Enjoyed every moment in Helsinki.

Usually when i feedback i always specify the most negatives unfortunately i dont find any negativeness.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and our cozy restaurant, Iguana. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.