We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish there was an elementary front desk...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citykoti Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Citykoti Apartments to your Saves list
Citykoti Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malminkatu 38, Helsinki, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I wish there was an elementary front desk...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I can understand the level of provided service given the price. On the other hand, there is no single word on "booking.com" about the peculiar type of operation.... Practically there is a ghost service: no front desk to pick up or leave ones key or even get an official receipt.... One has to go (after a usually tiresome trip) to 3rd party services to obtain the key UNLESS one is arriving or leaving between 10:00-16:00 ! On the other hand my room was spacious, clean and cery well equipped. Location is also a plus. Do not underestimate the lack of front desk though...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
24
40
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This apartment has everything you need in a household, from microwave to vacuum cleaner. We did our mini cooking in the apartment with the food you can buy from the nearby supermarket.

The location is considered near to the central railway station, and near to shopping malls.
As we arrived on a sunday, keys were picked up from the railway station but its definitely easy to find. The apartment sit in a yellow colored building which looks like any other buildings.

Bear in mind that they have a small lift, possible for 2 or at most 3 people at one time. The room is clean and you need to wash up your own utensils if you had used them.

There is wifi available too.

Walk about 10mins to the railway or airport bus express.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed there while in Helsinki during our honeymoon, we had a flat opposite hotel Helka, very central locations in most of their flats, very clean and well furnished. Most apartments I believe they have a washing machine, microwave, telly and wi fi. Beds and bedding are very clean and comfy and towels are included with the rental.
The ladies at the office are very friendly and helpful and they are there to assist you all the way. Check in and check out are fixed and can not usually be changed but they are happy to keep your luggage at their office while you wait to go to the airport. Trip form Vastaa to their Malminkatu office is 45 euros and their are open until 5 pm from Monday to Friday.
Great flats, lovely staff, a great Helsinki experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a suitable room since some of the flats are very small and they are ok just for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for a week with my husband and two teen girls. The apartment is small, but it had a loft area for the girls so they could have their own space. We didn't spend much time in the apartment, just to sleep. The kitchen was equipped with everything one would need to cook a meal. An Alepa convience store is just two blocks away and the KMarket is at the Kamppi Center about four blocks away. The main bus station is also at Kamppi. Tram and bus stops going in every direction of Helsinki are just a few blocks away. We were to walk to the Helsinki Port, Hard Rock Café, and many of the museums. They do not clean the apartment everyday, so it is up to you to keep it tidy.
There is no elevator, but it is an old building. We are not use to apartment living, but found it very quiet. It is not four star, yet it is tidy and has what you need for place to stay after a long day of sight seeing.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faro
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This apartments are very well located in Helsinki, you can walk anywhere from here but the building in it self is a bit dodgy looking and the lift a bit scary.
room in itself is a good size room with a nice size kitchen with all appliances needed for a quick meal
you need to take the rubbish with you when leaving otherwise they will charge you a ridiculous amount of money to do it for you ( make sure you do it)
the building is a high building and 75% of building is occupied by locals ( a bit smelly). would not consider staying here again and would definitely pay a bit more to have a nicer hotel ( bed was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for two nights in March. Except for the gloomy dark entrance (Runeberginkatu 6b), the room on 3rd floor way okay. There was no elevator. Since I was travelling light, this was okay with me.
The room was average. Found it well cleaned with fresh set of linen on the bed and towels. The windows facing the street badly in need of some cleaning and curtains need replacement, but they all worked okay.
Bathroom was the smallest ever I experienced in Europe. Bath area was so narrow that I didn't have enough space to bent down and scrub my legs!

I will not choose this place in the future for business trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location of the apartment is fantastic. It is within walking distance to the underground station "Kamppi" and the Central Station. The apartment is clean and has pretty much everything one might need: a kitchenette, including dishwasher (is that really necessary for an apartment that small?), washing machine, laundry rack, iron, ironing board - impressive. However, the bathroom is tiny. If you are not claustrophobic yet, you will be soon. It is about 1.5sqm "big", including washing machine, shower, basin, and toilet. You can literally wash your hands while sitting on the toilet bowl.

If you are a student, this might be okay. However, spend EUR 10 more a night and you can go to a hotel just across the street with additional comfort, amenities AND breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Citykoti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citykoti Apartments

Address: Malminkatu 38, Helsinki, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citykoti Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Citykoti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citykoti Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.