We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citykoti Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Citykoti Apartments to your Saves list
Citykoti Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malminkatu 38, Helsinki, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this accommodation through booking.com and it was a great find. It was very clean, quiet and perfect for a base to explore Helsinki. Great location, looks newly renovated, and suited our needs. All the appliances worked including wifi. For a 2 night stay this place was ideal and would recommend it to anyone wanting to explore Helsinki.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
22
33
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfect location. One-small-room flat with micro bathroom they call "family apartment". Sounds like great joke. But if Y are looking for cosy accommodation with short walking distance from every important places in Helsinki in atractive Price and quiet surroundings - it's an interesting offer. We spent 5 days in 4: two adults plus two teenagers - was quite good. Clean, fully equiped room and kitchen. Everything works and in proper condition. Wifi always works the same like TV. But sixth floor without elevator in old, high tenement house may be a problem. Close to small supermarket. Very expensive parking Zone before the building 4 euro per hour. Fortunately it's 800 meters only from the cheapest zone: 1 euro per hour. Internal backyard is a safe place to park bikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this apartment on the recommendation of a family member, who has lived and worked in Helsinki for 20 years. The booking process was very easy, communication before arrival was great and check in was equally simple. We were given an apartment on malminkatu, a perfect, very central location. The apartment was very well stocked, containing the following items:

Dishwasher
Washing machine
Fridge/ freezer
Ironing board and iron
Dinner plates
Side plates
Cereal bowls
Wine glasses
Water glasses
Mugs
Mixing bowls
Saucepans
Frying pans
Chopping boards
Sharp knives
Knives/forks
Washing up stuff
Measuring jug
Hair dryer
Towels

Think that's it...

The apartment was clean and tidy on arrival and the wifi was excellent.

The only downside to the apartment was that there was nowhere to sit, other than the two kitchen chairs and bed. The pillows were awful (probably the worst I've ever come across).

It wasn't possible to control the heating, this was not an issue for us but may be for others.

All in all a great base for exploring Helsinki, very reasonably priced and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennekom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The nicest thing about these appartments is the total freedom. We received the key at the airport. So even in off-hours we could get to the appartment.
The appartment is quite suitable: 2 double beds and a small kitchen for the same price as a hotel.
I'd choose this above an hotel anytime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked to stay in a CitiKoti apartment during a three night stay in Helsinki in August 2013. As we were arriving by boat from Tallinn on a Sunday we were instructed by CitiKoti that the keys would be delivered to the information point at the main train station in Helsinki, and we were able to collect these without incident.
Our apartment was in Malminkatu 32, a slightly shoddy looking building behind the Raddison hotel near the Kamppi Shopping Centre. The apartment, a studio, was very compact but had everything that would be required for a short stay in Helsinki, was clean, tidy and very quiet.
Best bits about the apartment - location (can walk to anywhere in Helsinki), the equipment (everything needed for a short self-catering trip) and communication (by email or letter with the keys upon collection)
Bad points about the apartment - Check out time 10am, very early considering many things in Helsinki do not open until past 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed by the complete equipment of the studio, I had everything at my disposal that I possibly could need, all in excellent condition. You are in the heart of the city, you can go everywhere by feet. Definitely I would like to stay in Citicoty again if I will be in Helsinki again in the future

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Citykoti Downtown Apartments in Helsinki, we were greeted with a warm and freindly reception. We were given a ro om on the fifth floor, and they told us that unfortunately, there were no lifts, but that's fine, as none of us are physically disabled, or infirm, so the excercise did us good! The room was immaculately clean, modern and warm. The bathroom, although a little small, was also clean and tidy, with a washing machine and dryer also! The kitchen area was very modern, with all cooking facilities and washing and drying. (Cooker, microwave etc too.)
The beds were amazingly comfortable, and all the bedding was clean and lovely. We had absolutely no complaints at all about this place, even though there were 96 steps up to it, (3 less than St Mary steps i n Whitby, Yorkshire, England!) And when we asked if there was a place we could print our boarding tickets for the plane, the reception staff insisted that we use their computer and printers to do it, free of charge! Great service! Lovely place. I'd reccomend it to friends. Helsinki is an expensive place though, so do not expect anything to be cheap!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citykoti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citykoti Apartments

Address: Malminkatu 38, Helsinki, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citykoti Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Citykoti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citykoti Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.