We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridgeshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Great little discovery in Helsinki. For years when traveling to Helsinki I have stayed in the Kamp or the Palace. But the latter was getting a little tired and the former was too pricey in these tough times. Thanks to google we found the Haven last year and we've been going back regularly (infect I have got all of my colleagues to go here as well). Prices have gone up but it's still cheaper than the Kamp and the rooms are far nicer. Free wifi throughout, brilliantly furnished rooms ( not your standard business hotel decor), and delightful staff. Some of the better rooms even have views over the harbor ( which is the draw for the Palace). The bar is cozy and possibly not as good as the Kamp, and in summer I love sitting on the roof terrace at the Palace looking out over the port, but I can still do this as Bo are a short walk from this centrally located hotel.

Easily 5 star but rooms for euro 150-170 for a basic one....and this is sufficient.

They also own a sister hotel up the road which is also good, but does not have a restaurant or bar. The Haven backs onto one of the best restaurants in town (same ownership I believe) called Sulemans ( apologies for the misspelling).

I know Helsinki is not on everyone's must do itinerary, and I frankly only go there for business, but as a frequent traveller this is the must stay place in Helsinki, and goof for business or pleasure. Just remember it is a boutique hotel though, so no pool, and a mini gym!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    145
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
211
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is a vast improvement compared to what - not so long ago - Helsinki used to offer and is a very good 4 star hotel well up to the standard of most 5 star hotels in, say, Brussels. Staff were much nicer than usual in this type of hotel.

My only personal quibble is that the bedroom windows do not open, so one is wholly reliant on the hotel's air conditioning system. That aside, the hotel was clean, efficient and quiet.

Breakfast was good: with the emphasis on good quality ingredients (e.g. really fresh organic eggs) rather than flashy piles of junk food.

The hotel is ideally situated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

If fortunate enough to visit Helsinki again, I would look no further for a place to stay than Hotel Haven (unless it’s the Holiday Inn City Center, which is also a great choice and a bit less expensive). We recently stayed there for 2 nights (September 2010) and were definitely far more than satisfied with the wonderful service and accommodations. Some specifics: Anyone we encountered at the reception area was, time and again, welcoming, helpful, responsive, and attentive to the smallest detail--I cannot emphasize enough how impressed we were with the front desk staff; the room was spotless, modern, and attractive; the beds were very comfortable (including the pillows); the complimentary breakfast, served in an informal and inviting café on the ground floor, was a most generous and varied spread of fresh and delicious breads, cereals, pastries, fruits, meats, cheese, and more (and there was the option of ordering other breakfast selections from a menu as well, but we felt that the buffet was already quite a feast); the room service items that we ordered—a plate of fresh fruit and a serving of berry pie—were absolutely delectable and the portions large; free wifi was included and worked perfectly (and I cannot say the same for most of the other places we stayed on this trip); and finally, the entire place was beautifully maintained, including the hallways which had a wonderful but very subtle fragrance. (The only possible negative was that the sliding door to the bathroom in our room did not close completely, leaving a gap of just a half inch or so; but I almost hate to even mention this because overall the hotel was absolutely first rate and we couldn’t have been more pleased.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The location of Hotel Haven is fantastic. We enjoyed lunches outdoors at the harbour, and loved the walks in the park, great for people watching. Dinner at the Hotel was excellent, good fish, OK service, it was nice to dine in the outdoor atrium. Our room was quite small, and the sliding door to the bathroom didn't quite close. Glad I was sharing with my husband of 34 years... The room was immaculate, comfy bed and pillows, and very quiet, we slept so well at night. Be sure to walk south, away from the main harbour area, there are wonderful parks and historic buildings to see. We were there for 2 nights, took the ferry over from Tallinn. From the ferry, it was an easy bus ride to the center of the city. It was a very easy walk between the hotel and the central train station. There are many historic churches and sites, as well as a bustling downtown, a very clean, expensive and enjoyable city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walchwil, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Friendly personnel, well situated for business in the city centre, nice spacy rooms. The breakfast buffet could be a bit richer, but also here excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Recently spent two nights at the Haven. It is an anonymous looking building in an anonymous street but in a superb location for all that the attractive city of Helsinki has to offer.

We had a lux room with a partial harbour view. Check in was handled very well with reception reconfirming the restaurant reservations they had made for us.

Our room was totally delightful, like staying in the private home of a very wealthy friend who also has impeccably good taste. Very comfortable beds, lovely furnishings and fabrics and even fresh flowers and a spacious seating area with sofa and easy chair. The B&O TV was superb allowing me to play my iPod through its superior sound system. We even had complimentary internet access - important to some travellers but not us. There was a cappuchino machine in the room but it only made expresso and was overly complicated to use. We later learned we could have requested a tea tray as well but I think that should have been available in the room as well as the coffee.

While the room was superb the bathroom was a little disappointing. It looked very smart, brick red and black granite surfaces, warm timber accents and even a second washhand basin adjacent to the loo. What let it down was the lousy shower. It sprayed everywhere and was very difficult to control and position, so much so I ended up having baths to try and keep the bathroom dry. There were good quality toiletries and towels and we liked the underfloor heating and the novel second TV in the bathroom.

The common areas in the hotel were also very elegant and like an English gentleman's club but not very spacious and got crowded quickley.

And as reviewers had said before - the breakfast.... Not anywhere near 5* standard and shameful considering the very expensive room rate. Breakfast was in the cramped Havis Terrace restaurant, was limited and with slow haphazard service. It really felt like an after thought. A Holiday Inn Express does a better show! Check out was very efficient too and a taxi was called for promptly to catch our ferry connection.

Helsinki is a lovely city with charming residents even if the price of everything is eye wateringly high despite which we enjoyed our short stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I completely agree with the review below, having just returned from Helsinki.
The location is fantastic, great for exploring the historical area and for hopping onto a ferry to the islands.
The décor is tasteful and the beds comfortable.
The bad points:
The hotel is clearly resting on its laurels as some of the staff are awful (worse than we have experienced anywhere). They clearly have no interest in the guests and ranged from incredibly insincere(forced smiles and exaggerated camp-ness from the chap in reception), downright rudeness from the blond girl in the Haven Restaurant, to sheer incompetence of another of the reception staff who having been unable get a table for us in Sundmans Krog, simply failed to tell us because she ‘didn’t know how to contact us’ – we were rendered speechless by this assertion as she had our name and room number and 24 hours to let us know.
We eventually made our own reservation (which actually did have tables) and had a really nice time, the staff were the exception – delightful – they were the only ones we tipped – and the food was good.
At checkout, they seem to prefer not print off a breakdown of the extras before charging the card – which made me suspicious and prompted me to ask for details of ‘bar charges’. Which as it happens were correct (although eye wateringly expensive which is why the bar is always empty), but the shady way in which bill settlement is handled made me a little uneasy.
So, yes, no warm feeling at all from the hotel itself. In complete contrast to the Knightsbridge in London where we had spent the previous w/end.
Finally, the breakfast is shocking, so don’t be seduced into thinking you have a good deal getting it included. And PLEASE don’t even contemplate paying for it if it’s not included. Also PLEASE don’t use room service without reading the small print – the charges are higher than I’ve experienced anywhere, doubly insulting when it’s delivered by a sour puss.
If you can get a really good deal, go, enjoy the room and the location, don’t expect service, eat out and you’ll probably enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.