We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great location, my bedroom had windows on two sides with a great view of the harbour. My bathroom also had a good view of the harbour.
The bed was very comfortable and I really didn't want to get out of it.
The hotel has a lovely bar and the restaurant has a delicious selection of food.
I felt very comfortable here, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner suites are great - good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear EaterKL,

Thank you for writing your lovely review.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our beds actually are very well reviewed as they have been specially made for us by a Finnish company called Unikulma.

Our Sea view rooms have one of Helsinki’s best view to the coast line of the city.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest relations manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    172
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
65
235
56
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

After booking a comfort room for two persons, we were updated to a style room and it was a nice room.
But instead of a sofa (like in the comfort room) there was only ONE armchair for TWO persons. Of course there is a very nice bar at the hotel but sometimes you are just happy staying at your room and use the mini bar.

The staff in the reception was very friendly and helpful. An extra plus for them.

The restaurant Havis was OK, the food was good and tasty, but the service is not so good, sometimes almost arrogant! We had to wait five minutes before someone took care about us and showed our booked table. OK for waiting, but not so long and not without a sign that they had noticed us.
Very poor to serve water to the wine in a can, instead of a caraff. Small details maybe, but important for the whole impression. We have been at other restaurants in Helsinki which were much better.

Breakfast is ok, good tasting but nothing special. Even here we had better breakfast in other hotels.

Room Tip: Take a comfort room instead of a style room. It is better and even cheaper. Don´t eat at the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosier
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We were not given an upgraded room as the hotel was fully booked. Nevertheless, room was large enough with large bathroom. In room Wi-Fi free, bikes use was free. Breakfast was served in the restaurant Havis. staff helpful and professionnal

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel Haven is in an excellent city centre location. Rooms are modern and comfortable with well-equipped bathrooms. Friendly staff and a great selection of Scotch whiskies in the bar. A good hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

After arriving very early morning after a long overnight flight, we were greeted by the fabulous friendly staff that we experienced two years ago and were once again informed that our room was ready immediately. We found it hard to leave our 2 night stay at this beautiful hotel which is so homely, comfortable and so cosy. The breakfast was superb, with fresh thinly sliced salmon being my favourite dish as well as the usual very healthy Finnish cuisine. We loved the use of free bike hire and thoroughly enjoyed riding around this beautiful city. The fine dining restaurant was closed unfortunately but that did not worry us as there were so many fabulous restaurants nearby.
The beds are so comfortable and I enjoyed watching the morning news on the TV in the bathroom as I was getting ready for the next day. We had the basic comfort room but there was nothing basic about it...it was magnificent! Thank you again for another lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear penml,

What a pleasure to welcome you back and read your review.
We are indeed so pleased to know that you stayed with us again. It is one of our main concept is to offer a personalized service and make our guests simply feel at home with a touch of luxury and friendliness.
Finnish cuisine as you mentioned is becoming more and more renowned as a healthy culinary experience and salmon is one of Finland’s best delicacies indeed.
Our central location as you mentioned, allows you to visit everything Helsinki has to offer.
We look forward to welcome you again with the smile and friendliness in your Finnish home away from home.

Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest relations manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are very glad we stayed in this location in our overnight stay in Helsinki. We were perfectly situated to experience the harbor front which included the indoor and outdoor market. We checked out the new Finnair ferris wheel and the cathedral which led us to shopping and eventually some live outdoor music in the boulevard just down the street from the Hotel. The Hotel itself is in a quiet location despite being close to the water. The room was very modern which included fancy bathroom fixtures and two televisions (one in the bathroom and one in the main room). We were confused about how to work the lights at first however the hotel reception happily informed us we needed to use our card to activate the room facilities. Reception also arranged a taxi to the airport which was a very comfortable van with a table in it we could all sit at. If I was in Helsinki again I would certainly go here and would hope other hotels might take note of some of the positive aspects of the hotel design and customer service. It was a great place to make an overnight connection on route from Toronto to Dubrovnik. If I had more time I would have loved to check out some of the boat tours they offer and maybe take the kids to the zoo which is also a boat ride away. We contacted the hotel directly to book our stay based on the good TripAdvisor rating and they were a pleasure to deal with.

Room Tip: If you require additional space for children their "cots" are essentially single beds that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I usually stay at Hotel Glo. The room at Glo is better but the breakfast is great here. Great location but rooms on the small side. Also, the hotel does not have a sauna which is really surprising for Finland. I would say Hotel Kamp is the best in Helsinki followed by Glo then Haven. I have also stayed at the Hilton which was very average.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.