We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with some faults” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Frankfurt am Main
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location with some faults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here over last weekend. The location is great for Helsinki because you can get everywhere without a car. The hotel is by far not cheap and I was interested to see what it would be like (a member of Small Luxury Hotels if I am not mistaken). The arrival experience was great and the staff were excellent throughout our short stay. In my booking confirmation the room was described with (amongst other things):
- up to 31m² (I do not want to argue, but the Room 603 can not be anywhere near 30m²)
- comfortable king-size bed (actually, in our case 2 bed pushed together not 1 king-size)
- excellent desk for working (the narrow desk has flowers, a lamp and a flat-screenTV on it! There is no way one could work on it. Luckily I did not have to.)

The breakfast is great with lots to choose from.

The room (carpet for one) could be a bit cleaner and in better shape (one lamp was pretty clearly broken and an armchair [should not really be there because there is no room for it] felt like it would collapse any time).

The air-conditioning / heating is very loud if it is turned on. The hotel is not alone with this problem. I hardly ever find the noise level of air-conditioning acceptable.

All in all, the hotel is good ; luxury only on the first glance (lobby and lobby bar) if one does not look closer - not really on par with the price/quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear JCoolH,

Thank you for writing your review regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased that you detailed many points concerning your stay and we appreciate all the feedback me and my colleagues. Helsinki is a very compact city and we are extremely proud of the public transport system that our guests can enjoy as Trams, Buses, Metro are available very close from our location and even most of the sites and attractions are of walking distance. We are part of the Small Luxury Hotels Of The World and proudly been chosen as the SLH Hotel of the Year 2013 recently.

The room offered during your stay is a beautiful cozy room of our Style category. The size mentioned is a standard size for that room category. The beds differ by room and since there was no mention in your booking of a King size request the room was assigned with Twin beds unfortunately.

We have informed our Housekeeping department about your review and the necessary steps have been taken to solve the issues that you mentioned in the room. We sincerely apologize about these little mistakes that occurred during your stay and would have loved to hear from you, we would have surely tried our best to solve these slight problems.

Our prices are in an excellent range with what luxury hotels offer in Helsinki and we hope you contact us for future bookings directly at our Reception by email to info@hotelhaven.fi where we will offer you the best price for your stay.

We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    128
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
50
186
44
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great, Boutique hotel. You feel a warmth when you enter. It's homely, cosy and warm. Decor is fab. Small bar, lounge area. Rooms are huge and comfortable. All the luxuries you would expect with a hotel of this class. Breakfast is lovely served in an intimate restaurant. Hotel has a couple of restaurants, looked great although didnt try. Perfect location too. Try the Italian Sasso opp the square for dinner or lunch, also Cafe Strindberg for an authentic Finnish meal and finally a great Asian restaurant called 'Yume'. Will def be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The foyer to the hotel gives an intimate experience and reinforces the idea that you are in a boutique hotel. A very stylish lounge and bar are off the foyer. The hotel is close to all the tourist action. And our room has water glimpses.
The room is stylish and a bit quirky. The bathroom is also stylish.
Good restaurants attached to the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, lovely buffet breakfast and so handy for the Saturday market .. Would definitely return to explore Helsinki further. I liked the design and discreetness of the hotel.
Staff very helpful and slept like a log !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Janet L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us.

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are surely proud of our center location near all the attractions. Many lovely restaurants are located nearby, Helsinki has a lot to offer and the Market place is a traditional start especially during the summer period where you can find the lovely berries and delicacies from Finland. The complimentary breakfast buffet is a touch we love our guests to indulge in making their experience with us more enjoyable.
We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not as good as looks on Trip Advisor!
To watch anything on TV cost a fortune.
Breakfast was in edible.
Not impressed by this hotel at all.
The harbour view rooms don't have a real harbour view.

All in all very very expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaven, Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear lindyManchester,
Thank you for your review of Hotel Haven on Tripadvisor.
I am sad to hear we did not live up to your expectations and I would just like to clarify a few points you mentioned in your review.
At Hotel Haven we offer 35 national and international TV-channels free of charge, including five 24h movie channels from Viasat Cable.
Besides these free channels, Pay TV is available with children's movies starting from 2€ and other programs / movies from 7€.
The breakfast is mostly organic and 90% of all our product come from small local producers who only provide the highest quality products.
Our Lux rooms from the 6th, 7th and 8th floor feature a nice view of the central harbour of Helsinki. In the early morning at the Market Square, one may notice the fishermen bringing in fresh fish to be sold to locals and visitors.
I hope you will visit Hotel Haven again and give us a chance to prove our excellence we always strive to.

Janne Ant-Wuorinen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent location next to the harbour. I was a late booker so had limited choice of rooms (had to overlook the street). But, the room was a great size and was very comfortable with a very large bathroom. Had some drinks in the bar which had a nice ambience and was not as expensive as I would have expected. Only downside was the rather limited buffet breakfast and the lack of space. I wonder how they would cope if all guests wanted to eat within the same hour!
Overall a very good little hotel that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved this Hotel. Larger rooms along Harbour front are worth the extra. Quiet rooms lovely beds and stylish decor.

Service at breakfast was slow and a little confused, breakfast area cramped too.

Front desk staff seem to know their guests and could not be more helpful. Gym small but complete.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.