We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights At the end of June.
Very nice hotel, fairly new [just 4 years] And modern Scandinavian design.
The hotel describes itself as a 5 star, but it is not an official measurement, since it does not exist in Helsinki, In my opinion, equivalent to 4 stars only.
The hotel, very clean, very neat. And services are definitely good.
Breakfast in the hotel adjacent restaurant , most modest. (For ordering an omelet they require an additional charge).
Most central location and very convenient

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
201
46
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in early June. The front desk staff was very friendly, helpful, and spoke English.

We stayed in a “Style” room which had a very nice view of the harbor. In exchange for the view, our “Style” room was a little small and did not have a couch. Overall, the room was very nice (although the carpet had a lot of stains and could use a good cleaning).

The bathroom was very spacious, clean, and well-equipped. It even had a small flat screen TV monitor. Nice amenities were provided. The shower had good water pressure and never ran out of hot water. The towels were nice and large and of good quality.

Our room was very quiet with the exception of occasional people talking in the hallway. The bed and pillows were very comfortable (slept good). Free WIFI was available in the room and worked very well. Complimentary slippers were provided. Also complimentary bottled water was provided.

The breakfast buffet had a limited selection, but was very good. It included both hot and cold items (scrambled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yogurt with delicious fresh berries, cereal, fruit, and more).

The hotel is in an ideal location near some of the main tourist sites like the Esplanade and the Market Square. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Style Room 709 has a nice view of the harbor but sacrifices space for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is a very clean hotel with comfortable beds. The location is fantastic - right near the market square and at the port. The only downside would be there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room but otherwise a very convenient and lovely hotel. I would recommend staying again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere,Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Haven few times, and in my opinion it's the best hotel Helsinki has to offer.
And I have stayed almost every hotel in the city centre.
It's a small, luxurious place. The service,
rooms, breakfast, restaurants and the bar
are all top notch !
The location is very peaceful, yet it's in the middle of the city.
This is not the cheapest choice in Helsinki. But it's the best !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Eric (sp), but tall, blond, guy, on the front desk was over the top helpful. The hotel was perfect. Room modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Would visit Helsinki again and for sure stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Haven in May 2013 for two nights. This is a lovely hotel with personable service and great rooms - love the sea view! Location is perfect, directly by the sea and few minutes walk from Esplanade and the market place on the sea front. Very nice breakfast too, sadly this time we did not have a chance to have lunch or dinner at Havis, but based on previous experience the food is great! The staff really makes this hotel stand out with such lovely service!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor and above facing the sea have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not that much to add to many great reviews here. Very nice, cosy hotel with a very beautiful scandinavian design rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Location? Hmm... Helsinki city center is so small that any location will do.
Why, then, four points instead of five, will you ask. One away for poor wi-fi. The internet connection breaks often, and you had to insert login and the password for the wi-fi again, again... and again... and again... I had to do it some ten times in one night. Why don't you guys make wi-fi public and non-protected? There's as much internet as fish in the capitol of Finland so you wouldn't loose any profits.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the bay - ask for one at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sanchez73,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Haven. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Regarding your reference to our location, indeed Helsinki is a small city and enjoyable to visit, but we do take great pride that we are located in the heart of the city next to the beautiful harbor as also many tourist attractions.

Unfortunately, we did not receive information regarding your WI-FI connectivity issues during your stay, but i can guarantee that our network is a very stable and offers a very good high speed connection free of charge, we also have two networks available one which is easier to connect to depending on the device you are using and uses only a simple WPA encryption. We will be glad to provide you with more details on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you soon again at Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.