We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Helsinki !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampere,Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Helsinki !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Haven few times, and in my opinion it's the best hotel Helsinki has to offer.
And I have stayed almost every hotel in the city centre.
It's a small, luxurious place. The service,
rooms, breakfast, restaurants and the bar
are all top notch !
The location is very peaceful, yet it's in the middle of the city.
This is not the cheapest choice in Helsinki. But it's the best !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    147
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
213
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunn Loring
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Eric (sp), but tall, blond, guy, on the front desk was over the top helpful. The hotel was perfect. Room modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Would visit Helsinki again and for sure stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Haven in May 2013 for two nights. This is a lovely hotel with personable service and great rooms - love the sea view! Location is perfect, directly by the sea and few minutes walk from Esplanade and the market place on the sea front. Very nice breakfast too, sadly this time we did not have a chance to have lunch or dinner at Havis, but based on previous experience the food is great! The staff really makes this hotel stand out with such lovely service!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor and above facing the sea have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not that much to add to many great reviews here. Very nice, cosy hotel with a very beautiful scandinavian design rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Location? Hmm... Helsinki city center is so small that any location will do.
Why, then, four points instead of five, will you ask. One away for poor wi-fi. The internet connection breaks often, and you had to insert login and the password for the wi-fi again, again... and again... and again... I had to do it some ten times in one night. Why don't you guys make wi-fi public and non-protected? There's as much internet as fish in the capitol of Finland so you wouldn't loose any profits.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the bay - ask for one at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sanchez73,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Haven. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Regarding your reference to our location, indeed Helsinki is a small city and enjoyable to visit, but we do take great pride that we are located in the heart of the city next to the beautiful harbor as also many tourist attractions.

Unfortunately, we did not receive information regarding your WI-FI connectivity issues during your stay, but i can guarantee that our network is a very stable and offers a very good high speed connection free of charge, we also have two networks available one which is easier to connect to depending on the device you are using and uses only a simple WPA encryption. We will be glad to provide you with more details on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you soon again at Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Haven for 2 nights and was really impressed! Our room had a wall of windows and was very spacious with hip decor and a super-cool bathroom. Welcome sparkling wine was waiting for us in the sitting area...pretty awesome! We had dinner in the bar the first night, which was yummy, cozy, and easy. Breakfast was included in our package and was great, with a wide variety of yummy things to choose from in the buffet. The location is perfect--near the Esplanade Park and it was very easy to walk to many places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I arrived at this hotel late - past midnight - and received a warm welcome from the helpful and friendly staff.

My room was stylishly decorated in the Scandinavian style, spotlessly clean with a range of features - well stocked mini bar, desk, stationery, Elemis toiletries in the bathroom, comfy bed with plenty of pillows and, best of all, Wi-Fi that worked faultlessly.

The breakfast buffet was excellent (especially the traditional Karelian pastries with egg butter) and can be enjoyed in a sunny courtyard.

The location - a minute from the harbour front is excellent too.

Checkout was fast and painless.

I wish I'd been able to stay longer - next time I visit Helsinki I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Kevin W,

Thank you for your review of our establishment. We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Regarding, the Karelian pasties are actually a traditional Finnish specialty and our restaurant Havis offer a great organic breakfast and the pasties are a perfect taste to start your day. Our beautiful terrace is also open during the summer for our guests to enjoy their breakfast.

It is a pleasure to know also that your check out went smoothly and fast as we know that simplified procedures make a better and great experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again in Helsinki and at Hotel Haven in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just stayed one night but we were very happy about our short stay. The hotel is beautifully designed with nice artworks in the silent and very spacious and comfortable rooms. I wish I had such a bed at home! And the Bang & Olufsen TV too! Staff was very nice, bar incredible and the restaurant is really good! Breakfast has all you could possible need. A perfect place to stay in Helsinki!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.