We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location - Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What can I say? Firstly my apologies for writing this so late, we stayed here march 2011, the location on the harbour front was great, we had a suite overlooking this - offered an upgrade at a fraction of the cost as a room was available and as we were on our honeymoon we decided to go for it. The room was well dressed, exceptionally clean, the only thing was that bring tea drinkers in a coffee nation there wasn't a facility for this, but one quick call and this sorted. Walk to town is about 10-15minutes with plenty of coffee shops around, and a walk to the ferry terminal is 10minutes also for a day trip. The breakfast selection had a wide variety, I went for local/traditional breakfasts while my wife had cornflakes - but we both left happy. Unfortunately we dined out every night but on return we headed for the bar where if the cocktail wasn't on the menu the bartender had the skills to make it - also the drinks are reasonably priced, there are gym facilities should you need them and a spa. Checking in and outlook less than 5minutes and the concierge was brilliant about things we could do, the main travel information exchange is only 5minutes walk away! We had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, nice to see standards haven't dropped from current reviewers! Thanks again.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it and if you can afford the check-in upgrade to the suite it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    144
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
207
48
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed for two nights in a Deluxe room and I was very happy with my stay. This was a personal trip and my first time at this hotel. When travelling on business to Helsinki I have stayed in Hotel Kämp but wanted to try somewhere different. I was happy with my choice. The room was excellent, finished to a high standard and very comfortable. Bathroom was nice and well equipped and presented, perhaps a little smaller than others but good. The staff I met were very friendly and offered good service. The bar is a nice place to relax and the hotel a boutique feel which I enjoyed and made a nice change to the corporate feel of other hotels in the city. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent two nights at the hotel, as part of a trip north to Munio for an Artic driving program. Was pleasantly surprized at checkin to be told the Hotel had "upgraded" me to a better "deluxe" room. Don't know what the regular room would have been like, but I can say the deluxe version on the 4th floor was large by, IME, "normal" European room experience, quite with 1st class bed, linens and furnishings. The only downside, personal to my preferences, it the room was equiped with a bathtub in which there were shower fittings, but which required stepping up, over and into the tub (vs. a more preferred regular "walk-in" shower arrangement. My room was on the main street (ie. front entrance) side of the building. It'd been snowing steadily, both before, during and it seems as I left. This meant the snow plow folks were busy rather early each morning (@4 am) and the noise of plowing and clearing was audilbe as the city woke. Really not much the Hotel can do about that, and I don't know if one had a room on the other side of the building (? Harbor view/windows) if it would have be quieter or not. There is afterall a street on that side as well.

The room came with breakfast, and a 20% off discount coupon to encourage sampling diner at the Hotels own restaurant. Found the meal at the Restaurant one of the best prepared fish dishes I've had in Helsinki, or any where else for that matter. If the dish I ordered that evening is any basis to judge, I high recomend the Haven's restaurant as well. The Bar, while outstanding & excellent, is more of a lounge - particular excellent if one's traveling with a group or meeting with colleagues etc., perhaps not so friendly if traveling alone or expecting to find or meet folks for conversation. All in all, a great if a bit pricy place to stay. Better for couples I think than single travelers.

Room Tip: Might ask the staff if it makes any difference either noise or view wise to be on the town or harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My opinion is, that Hotel Haven is number 1 hotel in Helsinki, if you think price vs.quality. Hotel Kämp is more luxurios, but Haven has all the necessities there as well, it's much more "homely"and sea views are always big plus. Location is great, You can walk many of the most important sights. And don't forget that Restaurant Sundmans in same building is one of the best restaurants in Helsinki. We have been in Haven few times and it has always been great experience and staff is really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Always ask room with sea views
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We liked Hotel Haven so much we stayed there again after a trip to Lapland. It has good sized rooms, fireside sitting area, decent breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff and a great location. The only negative was that the cross-trainer in the gym was not working properly and there is no pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was a little underwhelmed when i first arrived at this small hotel after a 16hour trip at 10:30 in the evening, it did not take long however for the staff and the hotel to get my attention and appreciation.

My bags were whisked to my room before i had completed the check in process, i was given all the essential information both verbally and when the reception women noticed i was tired she wrote down the important stuff like wireless web access, breakfast time and location etc, which came in very handy the next morning!

The rooms are "Europe" small but well appointed and laid out, the bathroom massive, best of all lighting is sufficient to enable one to read in the room without eye strain, a concept that many other hotels in carbon conscious europe need to take heed of.

The bar has a collection of Rum's and Whisky's that would put many bigger bars to shame and the staff were helpful with an amazing ability to speak in multiple languages one after the other. Restaurants and room service were good and the food a fusion of Nordic and western styles so something for most peoples taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during our stopover in Helsinki. Hotel Haven is a small but cosy hotel with clean rooms. We stayed 1 night in the comfort room and 1 night in Lux to find out the difference. The Lux room is bigger and we have a port view but I feel that the comfort room is sufficient enough if you are not spending the whole day in the room. Heated toilet floor, TV in the toilet, clean rooms and a good sound system is what you will get.
Reception is friendly, helpful and proactive. Breakfast is good although you have to cross over to another building in the cold winter morning. But if you are leaving early before breakfast, you have only some crossiants and tea/ coffee in the lounge.
You are also near to the shopping belt in helsinki. In all, we would stay there again as this hotel has a "professional" feel to it although porters and sauna would be welcomed in our opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.