We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent our 20th anniversary in Hotel Haven. I was surprised what a great hotel we have in Helsinki.People who planned and carried out this hotel are very smart and proffesional - they have built a perfect luxury hotel to the perfect place in Helsinki - lots of great ideas in this hotel.

We had a luxury room on the 8th floor. We had a view to the Kauppatori and port. The room has an American style smooth decoration, good bed, great Bang Olufsen tv and sound system and large bathroom. We enjoyed our room very much. Breakfast is on the same level as rest of the hotel.

If you want to visit Helsinki, Hotel Haven has one of the best location. You can walk from the hotel everywhere in the downtown Helsinki. It is the best hotel in Helsinki, if you desire some luxury, but you do not want to pay too much for it.

Room Tip: If you prefer luxury, you should reserve a luxury room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loslapillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed four nights in a luxury room with view of the port and enjoyed very much our stay.
The room and the bathroom are beautifully decorated with highclass items (BO Tv) and the beds
Are very comfortable. Efficient and friendly staff and very good breakfast. We had dinner in
The havis and sandmans krog which belong to the hotel and and we can really recommand them, tasty and very good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was excellent. Location near the harbour, breakfast outside but still under roof, Bed, Food and not to forget Free Biscykles for use - probably sponsored by Veuve Cliquot Champagne as they were in the same colour as the Champagne label and with the logo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had breakfast at the hotel Haven one summer morning. The assortment is quite small but the ingredients are fresh and very tasty. I especially liked their non alcoholic sparkling juice. You can either sit inside or in the courtyard. Unfortunately the breakfast menu is overpriced, 28 e per person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventure2Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Being Finn myself I don't expect much of Finnish hotels. Hotel Kämp in the only 5-star hotel in Finland - it is fine but still miles away from a true 5-star property.

Hotel Haven was a nice surprise.

It's more a boutigue hotel (like many SLH properties). As I'm SLH member I was upgraded to style category.The room was spacious, bed heavenly, bathroom good and Bang and Olufsen definitely an added bonus (I've had those the previous time in the Dorchester in London). All in all I have no complaints about the room.

Breakfast was of good quality but too busy to my taste.

Hotel definitely needs to have a separate concierge desk as at the moment the front desk also act as concierges which I think makes things too complicated.

All in all this is a true alternative to hotel Kämp in my mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavytraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel, the staff was super attentive and the rooms were VERY clean and well appointed. The location can't be beat. The restaurant and it's staff live up to the standards of the hotel and the buffet breakfast (included in the price of the room) was bountiful, fresh and tasty. the spa is legendary!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The fact that you can have the breakfast on a covered terrace is a great plus. One remark about the breakfast: the choice of bread is too limited especially for a 5*. Nice room and bed with complimentary water bottles. Fast in suite wifi. Shower gel very nice !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing