We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, contemporary and congenial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, contemporary and congenial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

A small-ish and smartly styled property that provides a pleasant respite after touring the city or tending to business affairs. From the outside the building is unremarkable, and there isn't a doorman or bellman to greet you upon entering, but the reception desk is just inside and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. They also double as the concierge. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable with typical amenities; complimentary coffee/tea maker, self-serve mini bar (the usual ala carte snacks and drinks that always seem pricey to me wherever you travel!). It's possible some rooms offer a view, but most seem to simply face the street or their central courtyard, which serves as one of the restaurant's seating areas. I can't comment about the restaurants since we never ate there, but the included breakfast buffet was fairly standard fare with special orders extra. There's a small gym for workouts and bicycles available for guests. The bikes are a good idea since Helsinki is a bike friendly town. Spa treatments are available by appointment in a small treatment room, but there is no formal "spa" per se. All in all it's a very nice and comfortable place to stay with friendly and helpful staff, but it's not a five star property if that's what you seek or expect.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    128
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
50
186
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

stayed here earlier this year in one of the 'lux' rooms, only stayed 1 night but didn't want to leave! Our room overlooked the harbour and as previously recomended on here we requested a higher level - which is worth it for the great view, room very clean and spacious, hairdryer, dressing gowns & slippers provided, lovely toiletries in modern bathroom. Enjoyed a fine glass of wine & whisky in the hotel bar (amazing choice of alcoholic drinks) in the evening, all staff very helpful. Breakfast good and they were able to provide gluten free items for breakfast. Small underground carpark available for a fee which was really helpful (note the area is a little small if like us you have a big estate car -but it did fit!) Definately would recomend and would like to return one day

Room Tip: higher floor overlooking harbour - great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for business. Two nights. from the start we were welcomed and all the staff had a positive attitude. Lovely room large and comfortable. Nicely decorated and a little too warm is the only complaint. (windows did not open in the room)

Although a non-smoking property there is a smoking area (seated with warm rugs) in the courtyard.

Breakfast was lovely, good selection and very attentive and courteous staff.

All in all a lovely hotel with good staff and a pleasure to stay at.

I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

As members of Small Luxury Hotels, we booked Hotel Haven for 4 nights at the end of April. Contrary to their claim, I do not believe they have the "largest hotel rooms in Helsinki" having also stayed at Hotel Kamp whose rooms seem larger/better organized. The harborside rooms, in particular seemed rather small. We were told that the streetside rooms were larger. Of the room types, not including suites, the Luxe is the most spacious with a large seating/dining area in addition to the sleeping area.

The flooring material in our room was a combination of small marble tiles in the entry foyer and carpeting in the living/sleeping area. The marble tile was a little uncomfortable to walk on with bare feet as it was not even and had some sharp edges. The carpeting was a light solid color which showed some past staining. Otherwise, the room was pleasantly neutral with some interesting art by local artists.

Amenities included an espresso machine, heated bathroom floors, free Wi-Fi in the room and buffet breakfast. The buffet food was freshly prepared, but basic and choices did not change from day to day. Any pancakes, waffles or egg dish, other than the scrambled/boiled eggs offered, was an extra charge. A refill of coffee was not offered, but had to be requested.

The bar/lobby is very comfortable and a previous visit prompted us to make our reservation. There is a nice variety of seating options--either private or open, with a view or not, sofas vs. chairs, etc. The atmosphere is very clubby, but congenial.

The hotel's assets are its location and inclusion of 3 very good restaurants--Sundeman's, Krog Sundeman's and Havis. We tried all but Sundeman's and were very pleased with the quality of the food.

Room Tip: Regarding room recommendation, opt for a Luxe room, if the price seems reasonable to you. If on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have had a wonderful stay here and would highly recommend it as a perfect choice. Staff are amazing - so friendly yet so professional and willing to help with any request. The location is excellent and an easy walk to all attractions. Beautifully appointed spacious rooms with exceptionally comfortable beds. Free WIFI. We couldn't have asked for more. Yes we could - tea making facilities would have been great but there are excellent restaurants and bar downstairs. We both thought the breakfast was the best we had encountered in any hotel. Our stay was everything you could wish for on a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for spending your holiday with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed you experience at Hotel Haven. Next time don’t hesitate to request the tea making set available for a small fee and we will deliver it promptly to your room. Welcome again to Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed for two nights on business. We arrived early and were very pleased that our room was ready, and what a room! Huge room with a massive bathroom, comfy bed sand a separate seating area to relax in.
Breakfast was excellent with a plentiful buffet and hot food to order. We ate in the bar one evening and had one of the best club sandwiches I have ever had!

This is now my number one choice of place to stay in Helsinki!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the size your room, some of the rooms are up to 45 square meters. You have made our Chef very proud with your praise about the Club Sandwich. We hope to welcome you back soon in Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

the hotel haven, is wonderful. Very clean and the staff are excellent.
I agree with the other guests that the bed is one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in.

Great location, central to everything. Also went to the Nokka resturarant 5 mins away - suberb !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. The beds are from “Unikulma” some of the best bed that can be found in Finland. Restaurant Nokka is also one of our favorite, every ingredient they use are from local suppliers and small farms surrounding Helsinki. Welcome back to Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.