We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel HEAVEN more like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel HEAVEN more like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Checked into the Hotel Haven for a quick Finland weekend- a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Just steps away from the main part of the shopping area & attractions as well as steps from teh harbor where you can take ferries to Estonia or some of the outer islands. Hotel was clean, beds- very comfortable, nice linens & room very nicely decorated- great lighting & B&O flat screen TV with an Ipod dock to play your own music through the TV. Ample power outlets to charge & connect all our gadgets & free WIFI in all the rooms that was easy to access. Another feature we REALLY liked was the ice machine out in the hall way- its so rare to see these in European hotels. Would have liked the option of having a ice bucket in the room to fill to chill some wine- but im sure if we asked- one would have appeared quickly! Bathrooms were fitted out with a very nice shower that is preset to 38F perfect shower setting. Nice high end toiletries (Elimis) that were replenished daily. Soft towels that didnt smell of bleach- I hate that!! Also they had one of those shoe shine machines @ the hotel entrance- great touch as there was a bit of snow & its a nice way to freshen up your shoes before coming back into the hotel :) Staff was VERY helpful, all spoke English- actually everyone we encountered in Finland spoke very good English- so there was never a language barrier we had to deal with. A friendly "Kittos" (thank you) always got a smile. We ate @ one of the hotel restaurants one night & it was fabulous- I think it was called Sundmans- it was the more casual restaurant. Great access through the courtyard into one of the oldest stone buildings in Helsinki- great food- although we noticed that wine is VERY pricy in Helsinki restaurants- so see if you can pick up a few bottles in duty free before you arrive. Noticed that on many menu's there was rain-deer, boar & lamb- not much beef- also LOTS of seafood & seafood restaurants. They love their salmon & smoked herring. Make sure to venture into the Stockman supermarket to see their smoked fish section- quite impressive. There were also good veggie options @ all the restaurants we tried.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    188
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
73
261
60
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel Haven has a motto....Your home, Your place. And how true that statement is! Warm and inviting, with the most amazing array of whisky in Europe, means that to even meet in the bar is a real experience, The chic people in Helsnki gather here. it's central to everything, beautifully presented, efficient staff.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear "Geraldq",
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know that you had an at home feeling while staying with us which is one of our aim. We do have an array of exclusive drinks at Haven Bar and we are very lucky to have some of the best barman in the city always ready to chat about. Welcome back to Haven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Excellent design hotel located in the heart of Helsinki. Paid 169 EUR including breakfast buffet and taxes for one night in a comfort room. Fantastic lounge/bar area and the wonderful and healthy breakfast is served just across a small courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear “Joachim P”,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the design of our hotel. The concept behind it was to create a warm welcoming atmosphere with a touch of luxury offering the conveniences requested by business and leisure travellers. Welcome back to Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Haven for (sadly only) 1 night on business. What a wonderful experience. From the check-in to the dining experience, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is very centrally located, a 10 minute walk away from the main shopping area.The rooms are very nicely appointed with a nice deep bath (so important with the cold temperatures outside) with it's own TV screen, fluffy bath robes, nice toiletries, little touches of art and a very comfortable bed. Food at the hotel restaurant I would describe as traditional Finnish with a very modern twist. Highly enjoyable. Breakfast was also good with a wide variety of foods on offer. The hotel has free wifi throughout and nice large desks in the rooms that serve every business travellers needs. My only disappointment is that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard may be a littler quieter, although my street facing room was pretty quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear “Mondfrau”,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope that you will be back in Helsinki soon and have a longer stay. Especially this year since Helsinki is the World Design Capital 2012 and there is plenty to explore. Welcome back to Hotel Haven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel as part of business trip to Helsinki.
The Reception Team were welcoming, friendly and courteous, the Room 503, was immaculate, relaxing bed and warm and relaxing despite temperatures of -19 outside.
There was a little noise from within the hotel building through the night but no real problem.
The hotel appears to be in a good location for the waterfront, park and restaurants.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights. We had chosen the Hotel Fabian but were contacted a few weeks before our visit and offered rooms at the Hotel Haven as the Fabian was unavailable one of the nights we had booked. Usually you would be a bit put out, but the company, (which owns both Hotels) was apologetic, polite and respectful. They offered us similar rooms (one upgraded to allow us to have adjoining rooms) for the same rates we had booked to Fabian. We were very happy and would have otherwise missed the opportunity to stay at such a luxurious hotel, where service and quality were excellent. The breakfast room was small but the food was lovely and made a great start to the day, great coffee and pastries. We had a standard room adjoining a deluxe room. The deluxe room was incredibly spacious and well appointed with every convenience you would need. Unbelievable beds, so comfortable. The bathrooms were very modern and stylish. Location was great, just out of the city and a block from the harbour. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Overall a great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were family of 4, (2C were 13 & 7) stayed 3 nights over the new year in 30-1Jan2012.

Before we were to revisit Helsinki 6 nights later, we walked around the Esplanade Park area scouting for hotels... Hotel Kamp Sheraton was shortlisted. Kamp's offer for us were 2 connecting rooms, w/o breakfasts at E189

Good thing we walked across the street a little more and stumbled across this charming Hotel Haven. It was simply the best hotel ever!

Duty manager offered us a Lux room to accommodate 4 of us, with a free rollaway at E220/night. Including 4 buffet breakfasts. How good was that! And while i was busy with the duty manager, the family were playing chess next to a fireplace in the bar. We were sold!

Come arrival,
We arrived with 6 pieces of luggage. And when they opened the Lux room door, the kids screamed Wow! In addition, "There's a TV in the toilet, dad!". At 10pm, that was the most reassuring comment ever!

During the stay,
+ free wifi
+ B&O tv with comfy chairs/sofa
+ dining table for 4
+ huge bathroom
+ extremely clean & tidy
+ huge room, the suitcases did not get in the way...
+ comfy rollaway
+ Nespresso coffee machine
+ free bedside mineral water
+ free buffet breakfast included
+ excellent front desk/concierge

- king bed were 2 singles joined together, hence the "gap" in the middle
- living room was part carpet, part tiles (rough on the edges)
- 3rd floor Lux had no view, except main road.
- dinner service was a bit slow

Overall,
the convenience of the location, ie. Helsinki Cathedral, Senate Sq, Market Sq, Old Market hall, Suomenlinna ferry point, Uspenski Cathedral, is second to none

We had a fantastic holiday. Simply the best in Helsinki!

Room Tip: smaller rooms had bay facing options
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.