We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stylish and Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Haven for 1 night in September 2011. It was a short stop on our trip from Saint Petersburg to Tallinn. We booked a Style Room with a special request of harbour view on a high floor and we were not disappointed. The hotel reception staff were the best that we had encountered on this vacation. The Style Room was exactly that...Stylish! Everything was perfect! The hotel offered free bicycles and we rode them all over town including taking them with us to Suomenlinna. The hotel staff recommended a great restaurant for dinner and also helped with a birthday surprise. Breakfast was superb! We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaven, Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and pictures of your stay with us. It’s always a pleasure for our personnel to help with requests that contributes for a memorable stay. Using our free bicycle is one of the best way to discover the city, we will have the bicycles back next summer again. Welcome back to Hotel Haven on your next visit in Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    137
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
202
46
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a 3 night stay at Hotel Haven and enjoyed ourselves immensely. I don't think the location could be better. The staff is VERY helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice, plenty of space and very comfortable. Breakfast was included and the buffet was excellent. TRY THE SMOKED SALMON!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaven, Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write your review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast including our Finnish cold smoke salmon. We hope to be able to welcome you soon again in Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at the hotel Haven in june 2011 and that was my second time.
The hotel and the lobby restaurant are beautiful and also very peaceful although
the location of the hotel is very central. Guest rooms are rather small, but they are equipped with everything you may imagine - even tv:s in the bathroom.
You get the feeling that you are a house guest in somebodys manson.
Only thing that seems to need improvment is breakfast; on both times it has been quite a caos
and the staff is kind of lost there. But we did love the fresh fruits and berries with youghrt!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the market squire and harbour are definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Haven Hotel in August. It has a fantastic location which is central to everything in this small charming city. The room was excellent, the public areas first class and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Whilst we were there, quite by chance we had the added privilege of meeting the Dalai Lama who was also staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Have been there several times. Working distance to downtown. Ambiente...very high.
Karsten, Denmark

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Very nice location right on the harbour. A room upgrade enabled me to get a very big room (by Scandinavian standards) with nice amenities. Though this was a road facing one, with significant traffic, noise insulation was plenty sufficient to sleep well at night.

Buffet breakfast is a nice patio, used in the evening for the Havis restaurant (also reviewed). The other restaurants of the hotel are GW Sundmans, apparently top choice in the city (not reviewed) and its "café" version, Sundmans Krogs (also reviewed), much better VFM than Havis. The fitness center is on the smallish side, but well equipped. Service is quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Small gem of a hotel in a perfect location in Helsinki. We had a beautiful room looking over the marina and market.

Excellent restaurant within the hotel complex.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.