We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haven to your Saves list
Hotel Haven
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Dallas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Excellent location. It is a beautiful boutique hotel. We found there to be excellent service and amenities. The buffet breakfast was included and was great. The hotel even had bikes to use to ride around helsinki. Rooms were pricey, but I feel worth it. I definitely would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    166
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
64
233
55
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Hotel Haven is an outstanding hotel with great service. The location is ideal for anyone coming to Helsinki and it i a true 5 star botique style hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and you could want for no more. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. When I next return to Helsinki I'll certainly be staying at this excelent hotel. Just as a side note there is a very good Thai restaurant very close to the hotel (sorry can't recall the name) but if you come out of the hotel reception turn right and then first left - no more than 250 metres from the hotel. Enjoy Hotel Haven.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I would stay here again if I visited Helsinki. Everything about this hotel was elegant and relaxing. The buffet breakfast was top qulaity - organic eggs, porridge, berries etc. the room was spacious and bathroom a luxury. We requested a quiet room and the staff went out of the way to make sure we had a quiet room which it was. It is well located . If you arrive by ferry you can walk to the hotel - no need to get a taxi. Wi fi available for gueats which is handy. There is small gym with basic equipment. We tried to eat in the Suleman frog restaurant . The menu is limited and 2 dishes we selected were not available so we went elswhere. We thought this was odd as it was only 7 pm when we arrived at the restaurant

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just finished a three-night stay at the Haven (June 10 to 13). Everything was perfect: excellent location, service and rooms. We took the bicycles for a four-hour tour around Helsinki - I certainly recommend doing that.

Trying to find something negative is very hard - the only thing I would improve is having coffee and tea jugs on the individual breakfast tables instead of having to ask for more each time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool, england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just returned from a lovely stay at Hotel Haven. Great location, great room (loved the tv in bathroom...) with comfortable bed and effective blackout curtains. Breakfast choice was fine and always somewhere to sit- was very pleasant sitting in the courtyard on the sunnier days. We took advantage of the free bike hire which was a plus and the free laptop use in the lobby was handy too. Gripes would be the cost of eating in the restaurants and the bar prices- for business customers I expect its not a problem as they aren't paying!! But for normal tourist/travellers I'm not really used to paying upward of 10€ for a small wine. That is my only negative view and it certainly didn't spoil my oppinion of the hotel. All staff we encountered where helpful, polite and professional... We would unreservedly recommend and would definately return!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great service, good food, beautiful rooms! Beats Hotel Kämp any day!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great hotel and very good value for money. Rooms are very nicely & stylishly decorated. Slightly trendy, but not overly so. Comfortable bed, pillows, blankets. Excellent location but very quiet. Good bar. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. All good and would definitely recommend/return.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.