We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kulttuurikeskus Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kulttuurikeskus Sofia to your Saves list
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
Kallvikinniementie 35, Helsinki 00980, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sofia locates a bit far away from central Helsinki. It is close nature, and you do noy hear traffic noise. Rooms are nice. In a bathroom, if you use shower, whole floor is wet. Heating is too strong and rooms are hot. Rooms are in three different houses, and you have to walk outside from a room to a breakfast place and the reception. There are lots of stairs and I do not recommend this hotel for people with mobility restrictions.
If you have your own vehicle with you, you can easily access the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Reason: The cheapest hotel close to Helsinki and possibility to get to it in short time.

Location: In the wood, close to the coast. Beautiful surrounding what is welcoming to walk around.

Room: We had a calm and very very simple room in sector C. I think it is very difficult to stay at such room for long time.
The bathroom was small and the shower wasn't separated with something. So when you are taking a shower all bathroom become wet.

Hotel has a sauna which was opened till 9.pm. But we arrived late and go inside sauna at 9.pm. So we were very happy to enjoy this sauna.
This Sauna was the best in our trip in Finland. Sauna was separate for man and women. Free WiFi was possible in the hotel and in the room.
The breakfast included hot and cold food. Quite a big choice. The breakfast room are very big and it possible to have breakfast a lot of people at the same time.
Free parking place.

Conclusion: Very simple hotel, but sauna and surrounding make it better. If it possible to find something cheaper in Helsinki, you should try other hotel. Like budget variant it is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had a business meeting here that lasted for about a week. It is located at the outskirts of Helsinki, about two and a half kilometers from the Vuosaari Nordsjo subway station so getting a taxi to get there is advisable (about 12 Euros) although one can get into a bus close to the subway station that stops right at its door. The place is situated near a lake and surrounded by a beautiful natural landscape, which allows for some relaxing walks after intense business meetings. The rooms were cleaned not on a daily basis but on a two day basis, which can be upsetting to some people, but it was fine with me. Although the room walls are thick as paper (one can hear others walk in close-by rooms in the morning), they are also comfortable and I slept as a baby every single night. The hotel offers a really nice sauna and swimming pool for relaxation as well. The meeting rooms were more than adequate for the business meetings, well provided with plugs and ICT equipment. However, the best were the meals. The food was always creative and diverse (I rarely ate the same thing) and the quality of the cooking and of the food would put to shame quite a lot of 4 star hotels in Europe and in the United States. The flavor, quality and freshness of the meat and fish dishes were among the top that I have ever ate. I believe there seldom one of my colleagues or I did not repeat the main course more than two or three times. Finally, the staff was friendly Finnish style, which means that they are helpful and often crack a joke to make you feel at home although always in rather serious tones and with serious facial expressions. Overall, I highly recommend the place for informal business meetings away from the buzz of the city or the stress of the office.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Sofia is a really old hostel-like 2-star hotel. Location is in a beautiful seaside scenery remote from everything. Rooms are very aged and are lacking the sound proofing totally. I don't recommend Sofia for individual travellers. if you are travelling with corporate group and need meeting facilities, Sofia is a low-end option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kulttuurikeskus Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulttuurikeskus Sofia

Address: Kallvikinniementie 35, Helsinki 00980, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kulttuurikeskus Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kulttuurikeskus Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.