We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mange Sud

Mange Sud
Tehtaankatu 34 D 2, Helsinki 00150, Finland
358 20 711 8350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 1,010 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $31 - $123
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Mange Sud is a Mediterranean restaurant in a smart residential neighbourhood Eira in Helsinki. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere and good food matched with great selection of wines you have found your favorite restaurant.Our kitchen serves classic dishes, like Carpaccio, Bouillabaisse and Caesar salads. The cellar is stocked with an extensive selection of wines from great value to true classics, all served by the glass!
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Service was nice and athmosphere was warm. However, the food was disappointment and wine recommendations did not match the food. This restaurant used to be one of my favourites in Helsinki. I really hope that they will return to the top.

Good tip for those who are having a culture evening in Helsinki: All Mange Sud menus include a free taxi to the venue. You just need to book table before 6 pm and inform them that you want to have taxi to culture event after dinner. Check details from their website.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Mange sud is my favourite restaurant in Helsinki right now. It's top value with great food and service. The menus start from 34€ and recommended wines for the menu from 19€. You can always half the wine package if you don't want to get wasted. :)

I love the decor and the atmosphere. Book your table in advance on weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Interesting food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The restaurant has a pleasant decor, suitable lighting and nice atmosphere. I would describe the food as more north African than Mediterranean. To me Mediterranean implies a mix of Spanish, Southern French, Italian and Greek cuisine. At Mange Sud the biggest influence on the excellent menu is more Tunisian and Moroccan.

Service was very good, the wine list is pretty wide with reasonable sensible pricing (it is Finland after all!). Food was delicious and served in a timely and good way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu and Wines, Service, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The place improves all the time. There have been a few visits to this joint but this time was the best. There are more and more interesting and excellent wines and they were paired very well with the food. They can also cater for gluten free diets nicely. The service is also very good and the owner present.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't expect good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was with my husband dining in some summer evening in Mange Sud. The place was suprisingly fully booked. We have reservation but we got quite poor table from back of the restaurant.

Food was quite good but absolutely not worth of the money. Fortunately I got a coupon for lower price. POrtions was large, quality was average.

And then the service. Waitresses was nice and polite but they didn't have any idea how to handle their work. We waited 45 minutes to make our order. Other customers got wrong portions, not wine or wine list and so on. And nobody was saying sorry. It seems to be hard to find proper and skilled staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mange Sud also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Mange Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mange Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.