We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, location depends...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Suomenlinna

Hostel Suomenlinna
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Suomenlinna to your Saves list
Hostel Suomenlinna
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Suomenlinna C 9, Helsinki 00190, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hostel, location depends...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hostel is located on the island. Be certain to check the ferries before you go, they vary dependant on the time of year! Nevertheless, the hostel is easy to find, close to a small shop and good value.

Room Tip: Check the ferry timetable before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When looking on-line for a nights accommodation, I was initially a bit put off Hostel Suomenlinna due to its location on an island off Helsinki. With fairly short notice and prices in the central city getting pretty high for the one night I had in Helsinki, I decided to book it based on some pretty positive reviews. I'm pleased that I did. I jumped off the ferry from Tallinn and walked about 10 minutes to the Market Square, and the ferry for Suomenlinna left 10 minutes later - enough time to buy a ticket (2.20 euros) at the machine outside the kiosk. A 15-minute ferry ride and we disembarked on the island, and it's only some 80 metres or so to the hostel - an old school bordering on a hundred years old. On booking I had been emailed an access code for the door which got me in (luckily there was enough power on my phone to retrieve the email!), a key to my room had been left to collect inside. The hostel itself is pretty basic, but if you just need it to sleep and rustle up a snack it is perfectly fine. There is a small supermarket 50 metres away, the same distance to the brewery/pub, while it's about the same distance again to Restaurant Klubi 20. This proximity to the ferry and eateries is really handy. I spent several hours exploring the island's fortifications which are really fascinating in scope and scale. The hostel is clean and linen provided. Breakfast is available if pre-ordered (7.50 euros). It's so handy to Helsinki and with such frequent ferries that being located on an island is no drawback at all if you are happy with hostel style accommodation, and the island is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hostel itself is just an average type but you will definitely love the location of this hostel. It is in Suomenlinna Island, a historic island in Helsinki. Clean and sound environment, so nice views around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Clearly everything around this hostel is quite amazing! You have a full island with great landscape, great buildings, a submarine on land, the sea and Helsinki on the horizon. If you want a quiet place with historic background, Suomenlinna Islands is the perfect choice. As for the hostel, is not waht you would expect from such a great place. The hostel is both a travellers resting point, but also a young kids vacations camp, which can be a bit boring, having kids being kids (nothing against it, of course!), when you want to rest. It's a good place if you want to just stop and go, but with poor added value other than the island where it is located. Nevertheless, is the only hostel on the island, so is the only choice if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harz
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hostel is located on an island in front of Helsinki. The ferry takes about 17min to get there and runs 24hrs a day. The hostel is a renovated historic building in a former fortress. Therefore the walls are thick and the windows just medium sized. You have a good equiped kitchen in the upper floor and a common room with free internet access / wlan in the lower floor. The rooms are basic equipped but in a good condition. The showers are very clean, the stuff takes this serious. The breakefast is not included but worth trying it! There is a store nearby that is open until 10pm.

At night all the tourist has left the island and only the inhabitants stay. therefore you can see this special place in a very different light. This is the special magic about the hostel. Try it and you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Helsinki. I wanted to start exploring Helsinki with the fortress and island. What bettter way to do it than to stay on the island? Which we did, even though we arrived late afternoon. But with all that daylight mid-July night time is far, far away. The Suomenlinna Hostel is quite close to the main ferry stop at so there was no trouble carrying our small amount of luggage. The ferry is part of the Helsinki transport system (HSL)
We did buy food from the Kauppatori market by the ferry dock in Helsinki but there is a store on the island that has everything. We had a great pizza and wine at Pizzeria Nikolai for dinner.
It was midsummer and a weekend. We arrived on the Friday. The island was packed with people who'd come over to picnic, relax and catch the last ferry back. So things were a tad noisy at night. Perhaps at this time of the year mid week would have been better.
The hostel was clean, comfortable and good value given how expensive Finland is.
As peple have said the hostel is quiet but the island is fabulous. It's definately a treat to stay here for a night or two if you want to kick back and enjoy the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

cool location if u want something cheap.and quiet and on the historic island of suomelnina... there is one drawback is that last ferry to island is at 2am so u stay in helsinki till 6am if u miss the last boat :))

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Vironniemi
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Katajanokka
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#8 of 26 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hostel Erottajanpuisto
Hostel Erottajanpuisto
#6 of 26 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
CheapSleep Helsinki
#15 of 26 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suomenlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suomenlinna

Address: Suomenlinna C 9, Helsinki 00190, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Suomenlinna 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Suomenlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Suomenlinna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.