We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice. Quiet location, yet still very central.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albertinkatu 34, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good choice. Quiet location, yet still very central.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Aleksanteri is a good 4* option in a city that has a number of similar priced alternatives. My room was located in the older of the two buildings that form part of the hotel complex. Initially the layout is a little confusing - two separate lifts taking you to two separate parts of the hotels and a sea of connecting doors, some of which require the room key to enter, so a little annoying if laden down with bags. But overall the hotel has managed to respond to the complexities of re-using an old building

My room was perfectly acceptable although a bit on the dark side, not helped by the use of heavy brown furniture. Other colleagues staying at the same time had an altogether different 'visual' experience, with some of the 'themed' rooms as mentioned in previous reviews.

Spotlessly clean throughout. Breakfast was excellent and the fast free Wi Fi (once you'd keyed in the hotel code) was a welcomed bonus.

Overall a good choice and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently looking at improving the luminance of key card holders that activate the in-room lights in certain rooms.

We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    80
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
44
17
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lieksa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, a special autumn price (80 euros/night) and the staff is so friendly. For me maybe even too much bothering me... but anyway, you feel very welcome! Lots of tourists from Denmark, Japan, Holland and Russia seem to enjoy the hotel, however there is nothing specially Finnish in it. Clean and peaceful hotel. The restaurant I can not recommend atall, but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby (both for fine-diners and budget tourists).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Minna,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri. I am delighted that you experienced the service our hotel and great staff is known for.
In our casual dining restaurant Olipa Kerran... we aim at serving tasty food made of fresh ingredients form local suppliers. Last week we launched our new menu featuring new dishes.

We do hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Overall, the hotel was nice. The biggest standout for me was the breakfast. Still, this is the best breakfast I have ever had in any hotel. The dinning area was beautiful and cozy. As for location wise, you will be able to walk around the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding the Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri.
I am delighted that you appreciated our breakfast. I am also proud to inform you that since March 2013 it is even better!
Different people seek different hotels and hotel experiences. That is why Sokos Hotels have created three completely new hotel types: Original, Break, and Solo. We were re-branded as a Solo Sokos Hotel on March 1st 2013. As a part of this re-branding our breakfast was improved and upgraded to be even better by introducing a new assortment of freshly made bread, a second “Parisien brew” coffee alternative and a wider selection of fresh fruits and cold cuts just to name a few of the improvements.

Hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me- we stayed in the Rock n' Rose room, a spacious, stunning rock and roll inspired room equipped with an Elvis pinball machine! Special mention to the reception staff who were always extremely friendly and helpful, they even let us in our room 6 hours early on our first day in Finland which was a big relief after our flight. Breakfast was very nice- especially the eggs and crossiants. Out of all the hotels we stayed in, this one was by far the best. Close to the city centre, plenty of nice restaurants around. Dennis Italian restaurant a few doors down is quite good. Alepa across the road was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Maddy, we are so pleased that you were able to tick all the boxes and that you enjoyed your stay in one of our unique rooms, Rock n Rose. For next time please book our latest: Bettie´s Boudoir. It is a room for a burlesque state of mind guests. The artist, Bettie Blackhear has painted the room with special details.

We hope to see you soon again in Helsinki!

Kind regards, Kati Jousimies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I spent a night at this hotel in July -13, and would warmly recommend it to anybody!
The staff at the desk was very attentive and friendly, room beautiful renaissance style with extremely comfy beds and breakfast great! The location is very good in the city center but in such area, that you will not hear any outside noises during the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was my first experience of the new Solo Sokos hotels and I have to say that I loved the changes. The reception supervisor was very helpful and attentive. She recommended to upgrade to the up rooms, which we then did and it was brilliant. We stayed in Bettie's Boudoir in the renaissance side and I it really had a boutique hotel feel to it. Room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. I lived the attention to details especially when it comes to the decor, the coffee machine and the minibar items. The breakfast was great: plenty of healthy and good quality choices. It was bit busy, but we still managed to find a table and were served promptly. All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade to up room and ask for Bettie's Boudoir for unforgettable experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Bettie´s fan:) Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit in Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri. Your review engourages us to desing more unique rooms.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Helsinki is compact and flat, so really any city centre hotel will be convenient. This hotel was a 10-minute walk to the main boulevard. Supermarket opposite and some restaurants on same block.
Breakfast was excellent. Room was big and everything comfortable. Front desk staff and restaurant staff were wonderful and friendly.
It is too far to drag your bags from the main railway station, so grab a cab.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri

Address: Albertinkatu 34, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.