We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Bettie's Boudoir” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri

Save Saved
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albertinkatu 34, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay in Bettie's Boudoir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was my first experience of the new Solo Sokos hotels and I have to say that I loved the changes. The reception supervisor was very helpful and attentive. She recommended to upgrade to the up rooms, which we then did and it was brilliant. We stayed in Bettie's Boudoir in the renaissance side and I it really had a boutique hotel feel to it. Room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. I lived the attention to details especially when it comes to the decor, the coffee machine and the minibar items. The breakfast was great: plenty of healthy and good quality choices. It was bit busy, but we still managed to find a table and were served promptly. All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade to up room and ask for Bettie's Boudoir for unforgettable experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Bettie´s fan:) Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit in Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri. Your review engourages us to desing more unique rooms.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
32
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Helsinki is compact and flat, so really any city centre hotel will be convenient. This hotel was a 10-minute walk to the main boulevard. Supermarket opposite and some restaurants on same block.
Breakfast was excellent. Room was big and everything comfortable. Front desk staff and restaurant staff were wonderful and friendly.
It is too far to drag your bags from the main railway station, so grab a cab.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I listed few of the plus and minus points, but overall my stay was very pleasant.

+ Fantastic location in the heart of Helsinki, but slightly out of the most touristic areas
+ Modern and fresh atmosphere
+ Clean and handy rooms
+ Friendly & helpful staff
- Centralized AC which was turned on (adjusted to standard) by housekeepers each and every day and afterwards it took some a time to get room warm again
- The bathroom amenities were not replaced even though I stayed for 5 nights
- Coffee service during the breakfast wasn't so quick especially when the breakfast room was full

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable.
I give the room a 3* rating because the air conditioning was noisy and not very efficient and there was no storage apart from coat hooks on a wall frame. However a family member in the room next door had storage and the aircon was fine.
The buffet breakfast was very good , plenty of choice and quick service from the staff.
The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful.
The trams are a minutes walk away on the Boulevard but the metro is about 10 mins away.
I would be happy to stay here on my next visit to Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was very confortable and the staff really nice. The only two points that I did not like too much are:

1) the breakfast. I stayed there 4 days and the breakfast was a little bit repetitive and no too many options. What it was really disappointing is that I was only able to have coffee one day, the other days, nobody brough me the coffee, even I asked for it two days, the last one I surrendered.

2) The shared computer lacks of pdf reader to print out documents.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My main complaint for this hotel is that it is not possible to open windows so the quality of the air can be quite bad. The reason for this choice is difficult to understand as I have even stayed at the 1st floor, so no suicide risk, if that is a concern for finns. Apart from this the hotel is very clean, good breakfast and beds are comfortable. There is the possibility to use sauna for free in the late afternoon and free internet access is provided.
I visit this hotel and the sister hotel (Sokos Albert) quite often so I have been at least in 6-7 rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and also thank you for visiting our hotels in Albertinkatu. The hotel has an automatic air-conditioning. Opening the windows will not help to cool the room. The concequence might be opposite. The most efficient way to get the room cool is with this air-conditioning system that a customer can use in the room.

Our maintenance will vacuum air-conditioning valves before the summer that will help the system to cool rooms faster.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sleek hotel in the middle of Punavuori district of Helsinki , 10min walk from the trainstation.

+ Service was polite, happy and fast
+ Breakfast was a normal hotel breakfast, nothing fancy. Radissons breakfast is better by a mile.
+ Room was nice and well insulated from the noise of the street.
- Lots of dust on top of the cabinet
- Regular check-in time at 15:00, so ask for early check-in!

After all a pretty nice hotel, but I was definately expecting more after reading about their "Solo" advertisements how the hotel is unique and so on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri

Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Address: Albertinkatu 34, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.